Main content

Latest News

VFL: Box Hill falls short against Borough

Brendan Whitecross and Teia Miles impressed in Box Hill Hawks' narrow loss to Port Melbourne.

6:00pm  Jun 25, 2016

Any change unlikely says Clarkson

Alastair Clarkson spoke to the media ahead of his side's Round 14 clash with Gold Coast.

11:22am  Jun 25, 2016

Suns have a dangerous mix, says Lewis

Jordan Lewis says the Hawks need to be wary of a Gold Coast Suns’ outfit not lacking in firepower.

9:30am  Jun 25, 2016

Latest HawksTV

The Board


Richard Garvey - President

Richard Garvey is currently a consultant and financial adviser to a well known Melbourne family and is involved in the management of their private investment interests. He is also a member of the advisory boards for several family owned businesses and was a Board Member of the Australian Institute of Management - Victoria and Tasmania for 11 years until December 2011 including 4 years as President and a National Board Member.

Prior to his current role Richard spent 34 years in chartered accounting. Richard was also the audit partner for Hawthorn Football Club between 1998 and 2007 and was appointed a Director of the Club in October 2010. 


Professor Linda Kristjanson  - Vice President

Linda is Vice-President of the Hawthorn Football Club and in 2002 she was named the Australian Telstra Business Woman of the Year in recognition of her entrepreneurial work in health, science and innovation.

Linda is the Vice-Chancellor & President of Swinburne University - educating 55,000 students in disciplines ranging from science, business, engineering and information technology to design and law. Swinburne is ranked as one of the top 400 universities in the world.
Linda has served on a number of national company boards and is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Professor Kristjanson’s previous research focused on cancer and palliative care and in 2012 she was recognized for her pioneering work in palliative care by the Bethlehem Griffith Research Foundation with a lifetime achievement award.
Linda is married, with two grown daughters and a son. She loves sailing, travel, reading, cooking, her morning gym routines and, of course - football. 

Andrew Kaye - Director

Andrew Kaye was appointed to the Board in February 2011 and is a longstanding Hawthorn member. He is a Neurosurgeon and Professor of Surgery and Head of the Department of Surgery at The University of Melbourne. He is the Director of the Department of Neurosurgery at the Royal Melbourne Hospital. He has had extensive experience in education, training and research.





Bruce Stevenson - Director

Bruce Stevenson was appointed to the Hawthorn Football Club Board of Directors in 2013. He is a 1971 Premiership player, a Life Member of the Club and has been a Nominee/Director of the Hawthorn Football Club Foundation since 2010. In business, Bruce owned and operated Stevenson Automotive from 1989 to 2011. This Company operated Toyota and Audi Motor Dealerships across Tasmania. He is also the former Chairman and Founding Director of the Tastel Community Telco.



Andrew Gowers - Director

Andrew Gowers, who will take on the role of Football Director, was a member of the Club’s 1991 premiership team and played 140 AFL games for Hawthorn and the Brisbane Bears between 1988 and 1999.

Gowers completed a business degree at Monash University and a financial services diploma while playing football, and now owns and manages a financial consulting business specialising in business exit and financial planning.



Peter Nankivell - Director

Peter Nankivell has been a practising commercial lawyer for 27 years and consults to Thomson Geer lawyers where he has been for 20 years. He was formerly the Chairman of Partners at Herbert Geer and is currently Chair of the Centre for Eye Research Australia Ltd and a Director of Xavier College Foundation Limited. 

Nankivell has been a member of the Clubs Finance and Risk Management Committee since 2012 and has been a legal adviser to the Board and assisted in the development of the Clubs governance model and constitutional review. He was elected to the Board in 2014 .