Main content

Latest News

The Mitchell secret

The Hawthorn star reveals how family, study and charity work with a family connection helps him play good footy and keep a balance between his footy and his personal life.

10:43am  Mar 27, 2015

Mitchell to play on in 2016

Sam Mitchell will play on in 2016 after signing a one-year contract extension.

3:32pm  Mar 26, 2015

Captains predict another Hawk grand final appearance

CAN the Hawks make it four-straight Grand Final appearances? The AFL's club captains think so.

4:45pm  Mar 25, 2015

Peter Crimmins Medal

Hawthorn Football Club’s best and fairest award was first introduced in 1925, the year Hawthorn joined the VFL. The winner was decided by player votes until 1932 when the Hawthorn Committee took over this role. The coaching staff now awards the votes.

The Fred Phillips Honour Board was donated to the Club by F Craig Esq. in memory of Fred Phillips who was appointed coach in 1933 who unfortunately passed away before the start of the season. The Honour Board was to officially record the Hawthorn Best and Fairest winners, which were listed from 1933 on.

Club records indicate that the award was originally called the Best All Rounder, changing to Best and Fairest in 1926. It reverted back to its original name in 1928 and from 1929 it was known as the Best and Fairest award.  

In 1985 it was renamed the Club Champion and then changed to the Peter Crimmins Medal in 2004, as a tribute to Peter Crimmins who is considered to be the spirit of Hawthorn. The Match Committee now awards the votes.

Previous winners

Year Winner
2014 Jordan Lewis
2013 Josh Gibson
2012 Sam Mitchell
2011 Sam Mitchell
2010 Luke Hodge
2009 Sam Mitchell
2008 Lance Franklin
2007 Brad Sewell
2006 Sam Mitchell
2005 Luke Hodge
2004 Peter Everitt
2003 Shane Crawford
2002 Shane Crawford
2001 Joel Smith
2000 Daniel Chick, Nick Holland
1999 Shane Crawford
1998 Shane Crawford
1997 Paul Salmon
1996 Paul Salmon
1995 Darren Jarman
1994 John Platten
1993 Jason Dunstall
1992 Jason Dunstall
1991 Ben Allen
1990 Andy Collins
1989 Jason Dunstall
1988 Jason Dunstall
1987 John Platten
1986 Gary Ayres
1985 Dermott Brereton
1984 Russell Greene
1983 Terry Wallace
1982 Leigh Matthews
1981 Terry Wallace
1980 Leigh Matthews
1979 Kelvin Moore
1978 Leigh Matthews, Peter Knights
1977 Leigh Matthews
1976 Leigh Matthews
1975 Peter Knights
1974 Leigh Matthews
1973 Don Scott
1972 Leigh Matthews
1971 Leigh Matthews
1970 Peter Hudson
1969 Robert Keddie
1968 Peter Hudson
1967 Robert Keddie
1966 Ray Wilson
1965 David Parkin
1964 Ian Law
1963 Ian Law
1962 Graham Arthur
1961 Ian Law
1960 Brendan Edwards
1959 Allan Woodley
1958 Graham Arthur
1957 Alf Hughes
1956 Roy Simmonds
1955 Graham Arthur
1954 John Kennedy
1953 Ted Fletcher
1952 John Kennedy
1951 John Kennedy
1950 John Kennedy
1949 Col Austen
1948 Kevin Curran
1947 Wally Culpitt
1946 Alec Albiston
1945 Jim Bohan
1944 Jack Blackman
1943 Jim Bohan
1942 Jack Barker
1941 Alec Albiston
1940 Andy Angwin
1939 Bert Mills
1938 Stan Spinks
1937 Leo Murphy
1936 Leo Murphy
1935 Bert Mills
1934 Ernie Loveless
1933 Bert Mills
1932 Stan Spinks
1931 Unknown
1930 John Sharpley
1929 Ernest Utting
1928 Miles Sellers
1927 Ernest Utting
1926 Unknown
1925 Fred Finch