Main content

Latest Hawks TV

VFL: Moore speaks on the loss

12:35pm  May 27, 2018

VFL: Matt Adolph Post Match

12:30pm  May 27, 2018

DYR: West Coast 2003

9:00am  May 26, 2018

DYR: West Coast 1991 QF

6:00am  May 26, 2018


Round 1 reminiscing

Jackson Paine  March 21, 2017 10:00 AM

Rnd1: Roughie leaves floored Cats floundering Watch Roughie put on some great forward pressure in Round 1, 2015 before snapping a super goal.
Luke Breust has kicked 14 goals in his last four Round 1 matches

Luke Breust has kicked 14 goals in his last four Round 1 matches

 Hawthorn's win-loss record in their past ten opening round matches is evenly split at five wins and five losses

Of the Hawks last ten round one games, seven have been played at the MCG, where they hold a four wins-three losses edge, one at the Gabba, one at University of Tasmania Stadium (formerly Aurora Stadium and York Park) and one at AAMI Stadium (Football Park).

The average crowd of Hawthorn's last ten season openers is 53,995. The highest crowd in the last decade was 78,466 against Collingwood in 2012, whilst the lowest attendance was in the 2014 win against Brisbane, where only 12,430 watched on in Tasmania that day.

There have been common opponents for the Hawks' first clash of the season in the last ten years, meeting Geelong on four occasions, Brisbane Lions and Melbourne twice and Adelaide and Collingwood once.

Hawthorn's round one record year to year has been somewhat inconsistent over the last ten years. Despite not ever suffering consecutive losses, they have only achieved back-to-back wins once. In fact, the last ten round one results read: loss, win, win, loss, win, loss, win, loss, win, loss.  

Over his last ten round one performances, recently departed Hawk Sam Mitchell boasts an incredible disposal average, falling just narrowly shy of 30 possessions per game.  

Captain Jarryd Roughead always seems to play well in season openers. He has played eight of Hawthorn's last ten round one games and has kicked 21 goals in that time at an average of 2.6 a game.

Luke Breust's season debuts of the last four years have been similarly impressive, where he has kicked 14 goals in those four games at an average of 3.5 a match.

Despite having an inconsistent first round record, the Hawks have managed to finish on top of their last ten opening round opponents on the ladder by each respective season's end, barring only two occasions (Geelong 2009 and 2016).

Two of the Hawks' last ten round one games have been decided by single-digit margins, with the smallest margin occurring in the 2013 loss to Geelong by seven points. The biggest win that the Hawks have achieved in the same period came in 2008, when they opened the year with a 104-point thumping of Melbourne.

In the 2010 56-point victory over Melbourne, Melbourne's two highest disposal getters were Cameron Bruce and James Frawley, who gathered 23 touches apiece. As Hawks fans would now know, both of these men have since found their way into the brown and gold. Frawley is now a key defensive piece for the Hawks, while Bruce enters his fifth year on the Hawks coaching staff.

Read: A look back at the fiercest Hawks vs Essendon clashes


2016: Geelong 18.8 (116) def. Hawthorn 12.14 (86) at MCG



Leading disposals: Patrick Dangerfield (43)

Leading goalkickers: Zac Smith, Josh Caddy and Darcy Lang (3)


Leading disposals: Sam Mitchell (36), Jordan Lewis (30)

Leading goalkickers: Paul Puopolo and Jack Gunston (3)


2015: Hawthorn 17.21 (123) def. Geelong 8.13 (61) at MCG


Leading disposals: Lewis (35)

Leading goalkickers: Luke Breust (5), Roughead and Puopolo (3)


Leading disposals: Steven Motlop (32), Jimmy Bartel (28)

Leading goalkickers: Mitch Clark (3)


2014: Hawthorn 21.13 (139) def. Brisbane 13.13 (91) at University of Tasmania Stadium


Leading disposals: Grant Birchall (31)

Leading goalkickers: Breust and Roughead (5)


Leading disposals: Dayne Zorko (28)

Leading goalkickers: Jonathan Brown (4)


2013: Geelong 13.15 (93) def. Hawthorn 12.14 (86) at MCG


Leading disposals: Joel Selwood (33)

Leading goalkickers: James Podsiadly, Billie Smedts, Tom Hawkins and Mitch Duncan (2)


Leading disposals: Mitchell (37) and Brad Sewell (33)

Leading goalkickers: Breust, Lance Franklin and Shane Savage (2)


2012: Hawthorn 20.17 (137) def. Collingwood 16.19 (115) at MCG


Leading disposals: Mitchell (32)

Leading goalkickers: Franklin (5)


Leading disposals: Scott Pendlebury (33) and Dane Swan (31)

Leading goalkickers: Jarryd Blair (3)


2011: Adelaide 16.9 (105) def. Hawthorn 12.13 (85) at AAMI Stadium


Leading disposals: Scott Stevens (27)

Leading goalkickers: Taylor Walker (4)


Leading disposals: Mitchell (38)

Leading goalkickers: Shaun Burgoyne (3)


2010: Hawthorn 17.15 (117) def. Melbourne 8.13 (61) at MCG


Leading disposals: Luke Hodge (34)

Leading goalkickers: Campbell Brown and Jarryd Roughead (3)


Leading disposals: Cameron Bruce, James Frawley and Jack Trengove (23)

Leading goalkickers: Brad Green, Ricky Petterd and Brad Miller (2)


2009: Geelong 15.21 (111) def. Hawthorn 16.7 (103) at MCG


Leading disposals: Gary Ablett Jnr (35)

Leading goalkickers: Max Rooke, Steve Johnson, Ryan Gamble and Cam Mooney (2)


Leading disposals: Mitchell (34)

Leading goalkickers: Franklin (5) and Roughead (4)


2008: Hawthorn 23.16 (154) def. Melbourne 6.14 (50) at MCG


Leading disposals: Mitchell (34)

Leading goalkickers: Franklin (6)


Leading disposals: Brock McLean (28)

Leading goalkickers: Russell Robertson (3)


2007: Brisbane Lions 9.15 (69) def. Hawthorn 6.8 (44) at Gabba


Leading disposals: Simon Black (39)

Leading goalkickers: Ash McGrath (3)


Leading disposals: Danny Jacobs (33)

Leading goalkickers: Franklin (3)