TelstraAFL Live Pass
Main content
Hawthorn Header Branding

Latest Hawks TV


A history of the Rising Star

Jackson Paine  August 31, 2017 9:28 AM

Thanks Sam Mitchell As Sam Mitchell's AFL career comes to a close, Alastair Clarkson tells the story of the blonde number five who provided Hawthorn fans with so much joy over so many years.

Hawthorn will be hopeful it can join Sydney as the only two clubs with three winners of the NAB Rising Star award on Thursday night.

Sydney is the current standalone leader of all teams with three previous winners; Adam Goodes in 1999, Dan Hannebery in 2010 and last year’s winner Callum Mills. 

Hawthorn’s Nick Holland won the third instalment of the honour in 1995, his second year at the club and first year playing in the forward line.

Sam Mitchell then returned the medal to brown and gold hands in 2003, when he beat Luke Ball home for the first achievement of what would become an incredibly decorated career. 

This season’s Round 2 nominee Ryan Burton has been one of the stand-out young guns of the 2017 season, and enters the night as favourite to take out the award.

Pundits are predicting that Port Adelaide midfielder Sam Powell-Pepper and Essendon’s 2016 number one draft pick Andrew McGrath are the Hawthorn defender’s strongest challengers. 

Read: The AFL writers predict the Rising Star order

Hawthorn is one of only eight clubs in the competition to have had multiple Rising Star winners. 

The Hawks have also received the equal fourth most nominations over the award’s 24-year history, with 36 selections. 

Carlton has created their own piece of history this year by earning a record five nominations - Caleb Marchbank (R6), Sam Petrevski-Seton (R7), David Cunningham (R12), Jack Silvagni (R13) and Charlie Curnow (R16).

Hawthorn youngster Blake Hardwick is also in contention, having received a nomination for his 19 disposal (included 11 intercept possessions) game against Collingwood in Round 15.


List of past Rising Star winners:

Year Winner Team
1993 Nathan Buckley Brisbane Bears
1994 Chris Scott Brisbane Bears
1995 Nick Holland Hawthorn
1996 Ben Cousins West Coast
1997 Michael Wilson Port Adelaide
1998 Byron Pickett North Melbourne
1999 Adam Goodes Sydney
2000 Paul Hasleby Fremantle
2001 Justin Koschitzke St Kilda
2002 Nick Riewoldt St Kilda
2003 Sam Mitchell Hawthorn
2004 Jared Rivers Melbourne
2005 Brett Deledio Richmond
2006 Danyle Pearce Port Adelaide
2007 Joel Selwood Geelong
2008 Rhys Palmer Fremantle
2009 Daniel Rich Brisbane Lions
2010 Dan Hannebery Sydney
2011 Dyson Heppell Essendon
2012 Daniel Talia Adelaide
2013 Jaeger O'Meara Gold Coast
2014 Lewis Taylor Brisbane Lions
2015 Jesse Hogan Melbourne
2016 Callum Mills Sydney