TelstraAFL Live Pass
Main content
Hawthorn Header Branding

Latest Hawks TV

VFL: Moore post-match

2:30pm  Jun 25, 2018

Doc up for MOTY nomination

12:34pm  Jun 25, 2018


AFLPA MVP nominees announced  September 5, 2017 2:40 PM

2017 Season Wash Up See what AFL Media's thoughts are on the Hawks 2017 season.

Hawthorn's nominees for the 2017 AFL Players’ Association MVP Award have been unveiled.

Shaun Burgoyne, Ben McEvoy and Tom Mitchell are the three Hawks nominated by their teammates, and will now go up against three nominees from each of the other 17 clubs (to be revealed in the coming weeks), as the wider playing group votes to decide the winner. 

Past Hawks to win the award include Leigh Matthews (1982, for whom the award is now named after), Russell Greene (1984), Jason Dunstall (1992), and Shane Crawford (1999). 

Retiring great Luke Hodge has been nominated as Hawthorn's candidate for the Most Courageous Player award. If successful, it will be the former captain's second success in the category, having already received the award in 2010.

Read: Mitchell among top five in coaches' votes

James Cousins has also been given the nod by his teammates as the Hawks' best first year player. 

See the below nominees from each club. 

Most Courageous Player Award:

Adelaide: Rory Sloane
Brisbane: Darcy Gardiner
Carlton: Matthew Kreuzer
Collingwood: Tyson Goldsack
Essendon: Mark Baguley
Fremantle: Nathan Fyfe
Geelong: Joel Selwood
Gold Coast: David Swallow
GWS Giants: Callan Ward
Hawthorn: Luke Hodge
Melbourne: Jack Viney
North Melbourne: Jack Ziebell
Port Adelaide: Tom Jonas
Richmond: Dylan Grimes
St Kilda: Jarryn Geary
Sydney: Callum Mills
West Coast: Jeremy McGovern
Western Bulldogs: Dale Morris


The Best First Year Player Award

Adelaide: Jordan Gallucci
Brisbane: Alex Witherden
Carlton: Sam Petrevski-Seton
Collingwood: Callum Brown
Essendon: Andrew McGrath
Fremantle: Luke Ryan
Geelong: Tom Stewart
Gold Coast: Ben Ainsworth
GWS Giants: Tim Taranto
Hawthorn: James Cousins
Melbourne: Mitch Hannan
North Melbourne: Jy Simpkin
Port Adelaide: Sam Powell-Pepper
Richmond: Shai Bolton
St Kilda: Rowan Marshall
Sydney: Will Hayward
West Coast: Francis Watson
Western Bulldogs: Lewis Young