Main content

Latest Hawks TV

Pick 45 James Worpel

6:02am  Nov 25, 2017

Pick 67 Dylan Moore

6:01am  Nov 25, 2017

Pick 71 Jackson Ross

6:00am  Nov 25, 2017

Best advice for the draftees

10:00am  Nov 24, 2017


Hawks poll strongly at AFLPA Awards  September 13, 2017 9:45 AM

AFL 2017 Round 17 - Geelong v Hawthorn

Ryan Burton was selected on the back flank of the U22 side, while Luke Hodge was voted among the most courageous players.

Hawthorn youngsters Ryan Burton and James Sicily have been selected in the AFL Players' Association's 22under22 team for 2017, following impressive seasons at Waverley.

Burton was named on the half back line, alongside Adelaide's Jake Lever and Melbourne's Jayden Hunt, while Sicily was awarded a spot on the interchange, with Isaac Heeney (Syd), Ollie Wines (PA) and Daniel Rioli (Rich).

Read: Burton finishes second in Rising Star

The AFLPA's MVP was also announced during Tuesday night's awards ceremony, with hot favourite Dustin Martin winning by a staggering 557 votes. The Tiger polled 1333 votes, ahead of Geelong's Patrick Dangerfield (776 votes), and GWS' Josh Kelly (416). Hawthorn's Tom Mitchell (196) finished in sixth.

Adelaide's Rory Sloane was voted the Most Courageous Player by his peers, while his skipper Taylor Walker was voted Best Captain for the second year running.


1. Dustin Martin (Richmond) – 1,333 votes
2. Patrick Dangerfield (Geelong) – 776 votes
3. Josh Kelly (GWS) – 416 votes
4. Rory Sloane (ADEL) – 267 votes
5. Lance Franklin (SYD) – 215 votes
6. Tom Mitchell (HAW) – 196 votes
7. Matt Crouch (ADEL) – 111 votes
8. Josh Kennedy (WCE) – 98 votes
9. Joe Daniher (ESS) – 78 votes
10. Robbie Gray (PA) – 77 votes


Most Courageous

Rory Sloane (ADEL) – 188 votes
Joel Selwood (GEEL)– 133 votes
Callan Ward (GWS)– 89 votes
Luke Hodge (HAW)– 77 votes
Dale Morris (WB)– 71 votes

Best First Year

Andrew McGrath (ESS)– 274 votes
Sam Powell-Pepper (PA) – 250 votes
Sam Petrevski-Seton (CARL) – 48 votes
Will Hayward (SYD) – 35 votes
Tom Stewart (GEEL) – 25 votes

Best Captain

Taylor Walker (ADEL) – 140 votes
Josh P Kennedy (SYD) – 125 votes
Joel Selwood (SYD) – 100 votes
Jarryd Roughead (HAW) – 87 votes
Bob Murphy (WB) – 46 votes

22under22 team

B:  Andrew McGrath (ESS), Harris Andrews (BRIS), Callum Mills (SYD)
HB: Jayden Hunt (MELB), Jake Lever (ADEL), Ryan Burton (HAW)
C: Marcus Bontempelli - Captain (WB), Clayton Oliver (MELB), Josh Kelly (GWS)
HF: Jack Billings (STK), Charlie Curnow (CARL), Jack martin (GC)
F: Orazio Fantasia (ESS), Eric Hipwood (BRIS), Tom Papley (SYD)
R: Peter Wright (GC), Zach Merrett - VC (ESS), Matt Crouch (ADEL)
INT:  James Sicily (HAW), Isaac Heeney (SYD), Ollie Wines (PA), Daniel Rioli (RICH)