TelstraAFL Live Pass
Main content

Latest Hawks TV

VFL Grand Final parade

4:00pm  Sep 21, 2018

Nixon 'Trust the system'

3:44pm  Sep 21, 2018

VFLW Grand Final Team Update

9:14am  Sep 21, 2018

Mackie 'Play our own game'

5:28pm  Sep 20, 2018


Mitchell wins first PCM  October 7, 2017 11:00 PM

PCM: Winner - Tom Mitchell Watch the announcement and acceptance speech of Winner of the 2017 PCM, Tom Mitchell

Tom Mitchell has been crowned Hawthorn’s 2017 Peter Crimmins Medallist after a stellar first season in the brown and gold.

The 24 year-old was adjudged the club’s best and fairest player at Crown Palladium tonight. 

After a record breaking year in terms of disposals, Mitchell polled 192 votes, to finish ahead of runner-up Ben McEvoy (138 votes) and third-placed Luke Hodge (131 votes). 

Ryan Burton and Isaac Smith rounded out the top five vote getters with 117 and 111 votes respectively. 

Rewarded with his first selection into an All Australian side, the 24-year old led the competition for total disposals in 2017, creating a new home and away season record of 787 possessions. 

The former Swan posted career-high statistics in virtually every category, including kicks (14), marks (5.3), handballs (21.8), tackles (6.5), rebound 50s (2.1), clearances (6.2), contested possessions (14.8) and uncontested possessions (21.5). 

A picture of consistency all season, Mitchell was one of only six Hawks that played every game in 2017. 

Mitchell’s biggest possession haul came in Round 9 against Collingwood, when the ball magnet gathered 50 disposals to become just the seventh player in league history to reach the half-century mark. 

Midfielder Liam Shiels was awarded Best Clubman and Irish recruit Conor Glass received Best First Year Player. 

Luke Hodge was awarded Most Consistent Player while NAB Rising Star runner up Ryan Burton was judged Most Promising Player.


Peter Crimmins Medal Top 10

1. Tom Mitchell 192 votes

2. Ben McEvoy 138 votes

3. Luke Hodge 131 votes

4. Ryan Burton 117 votes

5. Isaac Smith 111 votes

6. Jarryd Roughead 107 votes

7. Jack Gunston 104 votes

8. James Sicily 104 votes

9. Shaun Burgoyne 100 votes

10. Liam Shiels 91 votes

Club awards

Best Clubman –  Liam Shiels

Best First Year Player – Conor Glass

Most Consistent – Luke Hodge

Most Promising Player – Ryan Burton


Peter Crimmins Medal voting procedure:

Votes for the 2017 Peter Crimmins Medal were awarded after each home-and-away game by the Hawthorn Football Club Match Committee, consisting of Senior Coach Alastair Clarkson, GM Football Operations Jason Burt, Head of Coaching Damian Carroll and Head of Football Strategy and Innovation David Rath. A maximum of 16 votes can be accumulated by a player each game.