TelstraAFL Live Pass
Main content

Latest Hawks TV


From Hawks to horses  November 5, 2017 10:00 AM

Consistent, reliable and both 'three-peaters' in their respective fields. There's lots of similarities between our Silk and the famous Winx.

Consistent, reliable and both 'three-peaters' in their respective fields. There's lots of similarities between our Silk and the famous Winx.

Phar Lap- Jarryd Roughead

Australian icons who are known and loved for their enormous heart. Phar Lap’s heart weighed in at 6.2 kgs, almost three kilograms heavier than the average horse’s heart. And, although that would weigh at over six kilograms heavier than the average human heart, we wouldn’t be surprised if our courageous skipper’s heart was similarly sized. The champion thoroughbred’s nicknames included the "Wonder Horse", "Red Terror", "Bobby" and "Big Red", and you could mount a case for at least a few of them being applicable to Roughy…


Winx- Shaun Burgoyne

Two of the most popular competitors in their respective industry who thrive on the big stage. Winning Saturday’s Cox Plate, her third, Winx extended her incredible streak of consecutive wins to 22. When considering longevity and extensive success, there is one Hawk that instantly comes to mind. Shaun Burgoyne has played each and every one of Hawthorn’s last 105 games, with three Grand Final wins among that run. Winx’s first Group 1 race was on October 4, 2014, a week after Burgoyne had won his third of four premiership medals. 


Black Caviar- Cyril Rioli

Two speedsters renowned for their explosiveness, both Cyril and Black Caviar were an instant hit in their respective debut seasons. Black Caviar made two starts in her two-year old season, winning her first outing by five lengths before claiming the listed Blue Sapphire Stakes by six lengths. Cyril had a similar impact, playing every game in his first year before being a part of the drought-breaking 2008 premiership side. Black Caviar was named World Thoroughbred Racehorse Rankings World Champion Sprinter on four occasions, the same amount of times Rioli has stepped up on a podium to receive a premiership medallion. 


Makybe Diva- Isaac Smith

It would be remiss of us to exclude Smith from this, considering the vice-captain pretty much runs like a racehorse! The premier endurance athlete at the Hawks sets his sights on pre-season time trials just like Makybe Diva approached the race that stops the nation from 2003 to 2005. Both Smith and the Diva have been a part of a rare piece of history in their respective sports with a three-peat of wins that others can only dream about. Makybe Diva’s early career was unusual after her eligibility to race in major races was delayed, given that she was foaled in the U.K. This is not dissimilar to Smith, who made a late start to his AFL career, drafted at age 22. Their careers then followed similar trails. Diva’s career was kick-started with her maiden win in her first year in Wangaratta, a couple of hours down the road from where Smith grew up in Wagga Wagga. The next year, she won the Sydney Cup- in Smith’s second year he played in a Grand Final against Sydney. In 2013, Smith saluted for a premiership, while, in her third season, Makybe Diva won the Melbourne Cup.


Harry White- Alastair Clarkson

Perhaps not as much of a household name as the previous four racing names, Harry White nevertheless holds a significant part in racing history as one of only two jockeys to have won the Melbourne Cup four times, the same amount the Hawks coach has held a premiership cup aloft. White’s wins came in 1974, 1975, 1978 and 1979, the years Clarko would have been starting off his schooling career. Those wins also show that White knew a thing or two about winning the ultimate prize in consecutive years!

Read: Hawks prepare to head to New Zealand