Main content

Team announcement: R4

Squad Announcement: R4 v Melbourne See who will take on the Dees in this weeks Round 4 clash.

Hawthorn has finalised its Round 4 team, confirming three changes ahead of Sunday’s clash with the Demons. 

The feel-good story of the round; David Mirra will finally get the chance to live out his AFL dream. 

After being named an emergency last week, the 27-year-old has found his place in Hawthorn’s final 22 – a call up that GM-Football Graham Wright believes is well and truly deserved. 

“It’s obviously been a long time coming for Dave,” Wright said. 

“He’s been an outstanding VFL player for a long period of time, and has always maintained a high level of professionalism throughout. 

“Since arriving at Hawthorn, he’s attacked our program with such intent that his AFL debut was only a matter of time.

“We’re really happy for him and are looking forward to seeing him play his role this Sunday.”

Ryan Burton is perhaps a surprise omission from the Hawks’ outfit, with young defender set to line up for Box Hill this Saturday.

“Ryan has struggled a bit since with his injury and general fitness since Round 1,” 

“We feel it’s best for him to have a game or two at Box Hill and hopefully regain some touch.”

James Sicily (suspended) and Conor Glass will return to AFL level, while Kaiden Brand and Will Langford have also been omitted.

Match preview: Round 4

Hawthorn v Melbourne
Sunday 15 April, 3.20pm
B: Conor Glass, James Frawley, Blake Hardwick
HB: Taylor Duryea, Ben Stratton, Tim O'Brien
C: Ricky Henderson, Jarman Impey, Isaac Smith 
HF: Luke Breust, Jack Gunston, James Sicily
F: Paul Puopolo, Jarryd Roughead, Cyril Rioli
R: Ben McEvoy, Tom Mitchell, Liam Shiels
INT from: Harry Morrison, David Mirra, Daniel Howe, Jaeger O’Meara,
Emer: Brendan Whitecross, Ryan Burton, James Cousins, Mitchell Lewis 

IN: James Sicily, Conor Glass, David Mirra
OUT: Kaiden Brand (omitted), Will Langford (omitted), Ryan Burton (omitted)

NEW: David Mirra (Box Hill Hawks)

The views in this article are those of the author and not necessarily those of the AFL or its clubs