Main content

VFL teams: Round 2

VFL Highlights: Round 1 See some of the highlights from the Hawks win over Williamstown.

Box Hill has named its extended squad for Saturday’s trip to Frankston.

With Hawthorn's extended bench including the likes of Jaeger O'Meara, Ryan Burton, Harry Morrison and Daniel Howe, Box Hill could potentially be buoyed by more experience in the Round 2 clash.

Developing tall Mitch Lewis will again lead the line – provided he isn’t called into the Hawks’ AFL 22 on Sunday – and will no doubt be keen to continue the form that has seen him average three goals per game during the past three weeks.

Read: Hawthorn announce Round 4 squad

Will Hams will take the reigns as captain in the absence of the still suspended Andrew Moore, whilst last week’s stand-in skipper Nick Evans as been named as interchange from.

Tom Maloney has retained his spot as twenty-third man, rewarded for his efforts during an impressive debut last weekend.

Box Hill listed Vincent Adduci, Billy Evans, Brayden Kilpatrick, Stuart Horner, Liam Jeffs and Lachlan Walker are in the frame for their first appearances in the senior side for 2018, whilst Liam Mackie could make his debut.

Ins: K. Brand, H. Morrison*, R. Burton*, D. Howe*, W. Langford, J. O’Meara*, L. Walker, B. Kilpatrick, S. Horner, L. Mackie, L. Jeffs, B. Evans, V. Adduci
Outs: K. Heatherley, J. Ross, H. Jones, O. Hanrahan, C. Glass

Team to be finalised prior to bounce.

Frankston v Box Hill
Skybus Stadium
Saturday 14 April, 2pm

B  42. T Miles 59. K Brand 35. H Morrison*
HB 62. R Burton* 32. D Mirra* 50. D Willsmore
C 60. K Lovell 63. D. Howe* 52. J O’Rourke
HF 58. W Langford 45. C Nash 51. B Whitecross*
F 36. D Moore 39. M Lewis* 38. J Worpel
R 56. M Pittonet 46. J Cousins* J O’Meara*
Int 21. L Walker 11. B Kilpatrick 6. S Horner
10. W Hams 7. A Brolic 1. L Mackie
3. B Murphy 13. N Evans 18. L Jeffs
9. B Evans 8. V Adduci 4. M O’Donnell
 23rd  17. T Maloney

*Named on extended bench of Hawthorn Round 4 squad.

Images courtesy of Kadek Thatcher photography

The views in this article are those of the author and not necessarily those of the AFL or its clubs