Main content

VFL R19 + VFLW R14 teams

VFLW Team Update: R14 HawksTV's Kiandra Trickett talks to Senior Coach Paddy Hill about the VFLW side taking on the Western Bulldogs this Sunday.

With just three rounds remaining in the home and away season, both the Box Hill men and Hawthorn women face important clashes as they look to firm their top four position.

Box Hill will take on Werribee on Saturday afternoon to take on the 12th placed Tigers.

Chris Newman’s side will be buoyed by a host of VFL talent, with the likes of Anthony Brolic and Billy Murphy in line to return.

The Hawks currently sit fourth on the VFL ladder, just three percent clear of fifth-placed Williamstown.

The Hawthorn women will then take on the sixth-placed Western Bulldogs at Box Hill City Oval. 

Coming off a narrow loss to Darebin, the Hawks will be looking to hold onto third position, ahead of a huge clash next week against the in-form NT Thunder.

The Hawks will be without key players Melissa Kuys (rested) and Pepa Randall (knee soreness), however they should be boosted by the return of Captain Emma Mackie. 

Coach Patrick Hill says his side is “expecting the unexpected” this week, with the Bulldogs likely to make some big changes following last week’s loss.

See the Hawks’ full line ups below.

Read: Hawks to unveil Irish debutant 

Werribee v Box Hill
Avalon Airport Oval

Saturday 11th August, 1pm 

B: Mitch O'Donnell, Kurt Heatherley, Will Hams
HB: Dallas Willsmore, David Mirra, Conor Glass
C: Dylan Moore, James Cousins, Brayden Kilpatrick
HF: Taylor Duryea, Tim O'Brien, Oliver Hanrahan
F: Changkuoth Jiath, Chris Jones, Jackson Ross
R: Marc Pittonet, Kieran Lovell, Jonathan O'Rourke
INT: Lachie Walker, Billy Murphy, Nathan Boucher, Anthony Brolic, Michael Knoll, Nick Evans, Stuar Horner, Liam Mackie
23rd: Harrison Burt 

Hawthorn v Western Bulldogs
Box Hill City Oval

Sunday 12th August, 2pm

B: Kim Ebb, Chantella Perera, Jess Sibley
HB: Ebony Nixon, Dianna Haines, Jayde Van Dyk
C: Olivia Flanagan, Julia Crockett-Grills, Meg Hutchins
HF: Emily Gilder, Clare O'Donnell, Tahni Nestor
F: Phoebe McWilliams, Tamara Luke, Sarah Perkins
R: Lou Wotton, Rebecca Beeson, Emma Mackie
INT from: Steph Carroll, Rosie Dillon, Emily McIlvena, Emerson Woods, Samara David, Jess Foster, Ellie Macdonald, Abbey Tanner
23rd: Sarah Kendall

The views in this article are those of the author and not necessarily those of the AFL or its clubs