Main content

2015 Fixture released

2015 Fixture analysis Acting CEO, Tim Silvers, analyses the Hawks' 2015 fixture.

HAWTHORN will unfurl the 2014 Premiership flag before the bounce of the blockbuster Round 1 clash against Geelong at the MCG on Easter Monday.

With the 2015 home-and-away fixture released on Thursday morning, the opening round clash against last year’s semi finalists is one of three tough games to open the season, with the Hawks also facing fellow finalists Essendon and Port Adelaide in the first month.

The clash against the Power will be played on ANZAC night at Adelaide Oval, the first time the Hawks have played on the day since 2010.

The game is one of five interstate trips for the Hawks in 2015, who’ll also face Adelaide (Round 12), Sydney Swans (Round 16), Greater Western Sydney (Round 6) and West Coast (Round 19) away from home.

The Hawks will also play four home games in Tasmania again in 2015, with a blockbuster against Fremantle at Aurora Stadium scheduled for Sunday 12 July. Western Bulldogs (Round 3), Gold Coast Suns (Round 9) and Brisbane Lions (Round 22) will also face the Hawks at their second home.

As expected, the Hawks face a tough draw in 2015, scheduled to play top four teams Sydney Swans and Port Adelaide twice, as well as return games against Geelong, Essendon and Carlton.

The Round 1 clash against the Cats will be the first of six bumper home games at the MCG for the season, and a total of nine matches at the venue.

For the first time in six years, the Hawks will host Carlton at the MCG as part of the AFL’s floating Round 23 fixture, while it will meet Essendon for the first time at the venue for three years.

The Hawks will also host the Grand Final re-match against Sydney Swans on Saturday night at the MCG in Round 8 as well as Richmond in Round 18.

New recruit James Frawley won’t have to wait long to face his old side Melbourne, when the Hawks face the Demons in a home game at the MCG in Round 7.

Hawthorn will also play a home game at Etihad Stadium this year, in Round 21 against the Power.

Under the AFL’s new fixture rules, teams have been split into three categories based on ladder position and can play a maximum of three matches against teams in the same bracket.

As 2014 Premiers, the Hawks have been given three double-ups against top six teams from 2014, with return bouts against Sydney Swans (Rounds 8 and 16), Port Adelaide (Rounds 4 and 21) and Geelong (Rounds 1 and 20).

The Hawks have also been fixtured to face Essendon (Rounds 2 and 13) and Carlton (Rounds 17 and 23) twice.

The Club, as per AFL rules also has one bye, down from two last year due to the delayed start to the year in 2015, in Round 11.

View Hawthorn’s 2015 fixture here.

Now that you've seen the fixture, ensure you're at every match by purchasing your 2015 membership online NOW.