Main content

Plaudits for VFLW trio

After a season of stellar performances in the brown and gold, three Hawks have been named in the 2018 VFLW Team of the Year. 

Emma Mackie has capped off another fantastic season, named on the interchange in the league’s best 22. In her first season as skipper, Mackie has averaged 19.3 disposals in her 12 appearances, booting eight goals for the season as she led her team to a Grand Final berth. 

The Hawks star polled 15 votes in the Lambert Pearce Medal for the league's best and fairest player, finishing in equal fifth position behind the eventual winner, Williamstown's Jess Duffin.

Mackie will be looking to add the title of ‘premiership captain’ to her list of 2018 accolades in a fortnight’s time.

Rebecca Beeson joins her skipper in the VFLW Team of the Year, named on the wing. Since relocating to Melbourne to play with the Hawks at the start of the season, the AFLW star has gone from strength to strength, averaging 21 disposals – including a career-best 30-touch haul in Round 15.

The third and final ‘Team of the Year’ recipient, Jayde Van Dyk was named in the back pocket after an incredible season. The young Hawk received double the honours on the night, also named the competition’s ‘Rising Star’.

Van Dyk enjoyed a breakout year, averaging 15 disposals while serving as an impenetrable force in Hawthorn’s defence.

Read: Hawks straight through to Grand Final 

The views in this article are those of the author and not necessarily those of the AFL or its clubs