The biggest and most exciting event on Hawthorn’s calendar went off in spectacular style at Crown Palladium in front of 1350 guests on Saturday 5 October as defender Josh Gibson was crowned Hawthorn’s fairest and best player in season 2013.

Gibson won the Peter Crimmins Medal by 11 votes over runner-up Jarryd Roughead and four-time winner Sam Mitchell in third.

The night began in the best possible way, as MC Craig Willis welcomed the 2013 Premiership team to the stage. The players received a rock star reception from guests as they were called to the stage in number order before Captain Luke Hodge and Coach Alastair Clarkson emerged with the Premiership Cup.

The Box Hill VFL Premiership Cup was also presented by Coach Damian Carroll and Box Hill best and fairest winner Kyle Cheney. The silverware glistened on stage as a reminder of the achievements of Hawthorn and its VFL affiliate in season 2013.

A special tribute was made to retiring two-time premiership hero Brent Guerra, while premiership players Max Bailey and Michael Osborne also announced their retirements. Brad Sewell and Sam Mitchell both made heartfelt speeches about the pair, before they took to the stage to farewell the Club and its members and supporters.

Voting went down to the wire as Coleman Medallist Roughead lead the count by two votes over Gibson heading into the three finals matches round 23 by only two votes.

But the ever reliable defender, who had an outstanding finals series stole the lead from Roughead after the Qualifying Final and held the lead for the remainder of the finals series to win the Peter Crimmins Medal.

There was a race for third position between defender Ben Stratton and Mitchell before the four-time winner took third spot after his brilliant Preliminary Final performance against the Cats. Mitchell finished five votes clear of Stratton.

Peter Crimmins Medal top 10
Josh Gibson – 178
Jarryd Roughead – 167
Sam Mitchell – 157
Ben Stratton – 152
Luke Hodge – 146
Shaun Burgoyne – 127
Grant Birchall – 120
Jack Gunston – 116
Luke Breust –116
Isaac Smith – 109

Other award winners on the night
Taylor Duryea - Best First Year Player
Luke Hodge - Best Clubman
Isaac Smith - Most Promising Player
Ben Stratton - Most Consistent Player
Jack Gunston - Best Player in Finals

The Club would like to thank everyone that attended the 2013 Peter Crimmins Medal and hope each and every person enjoyed their evening.

This event sold out again this year, so to avoid disappointment for 2014, mark it in your diaries to book your tickets at the beginning of the 2014 home and away season.

For all event enquiries, contact the Hawthorn Events team on or 03 9535 3069.