Main content


 Screen Shot 2019-08-23 at 1.50.52 pm.png



The Victorian Blind Football League exists to provide Victorians with blindness and low vision the opportunity to participate in Australian Rules Football, at a competitive level. Governed by AFL Victoria, the League provides an environment that promotes fitness, fun, friendship and a sense of belonging. Through participation in Australian Rules Football, it enhances life skills and develops self-esteem, confidence and improved health. 

In 2019, Hawthorn drafter it’s inaugural AFL Blind team. Each team has a squad of 10 players. Hawthorn’s list for 2019 is:

Mel Edge (captain), Ned Brewer-Maiga (vice-captain), Chris Gould, Dale Alards, David Steeds, John Boland, Ollie Oglethorpe, Soban Sivachanthiran, Zac Sheehan and Cebby Johnson.

Cebby joins the Hawks

Cebby becomes Hawthorn's first AFL blind player.

June 18, 2019  6:57 PM