Main content

Latest Hawks TV

Hawks flying in Katherine

12:00pm  Feb 23, 2018

One For All | Always - Trailer

9:00am  Feb 23, 2018

VFLW Update with Samara David

7:55am  Feb 23, 2018

Pre-season Stars: Jack Gunston

7:55am  Feb 23, 2018


Gibson wins first Peter Crimmins Medal

Kate Salemme  October 5, 2013 10:36 PM

PCM: Gibson interview Josh Gibson talks to HawksTV about winning his first Peter Crimmins Medal
AFL 2013 Rd 18 - Essendon v Hawthorn

Josh Gibson of the Hawks in action during the 2013 AFL Round 18 match between the Essendon Bombers and the Hawthorn Hawks at Etihad Stadium, Melbourne on July 26, 2013. (Photo: Michael Willson/AFL Media)

HAWTHORN defender Josh Gibson has been rewarded for his outstanding season with his first Club best and fairest on Saturday night, winning the Peter Crimmins Medal.

Gibson won with 178 votes, with Coleman Medal winner Jarryd Roughead the runner-up on 167 votes and four-time Peter Crimmins medallist Sam Mitchell in third with 157 votes.

The reliable and consistent Hawks defender led at Rounds 10 and 21, with another excellent finals series ensuring he was crowned the 2013 Peter Crimmins medallist.

Gibson flourished in his role as centre half back in 2013, continuing his vast improvement since crossing from the Kangaroos to the Hawks at the end of 2009.

This year, he formed a formidable partnership with Brian Lake who joined the Hawks during last season’s trade period.

The duo became one of the competition’s best defensive pairs.

Throughout the year, Gibson enhanced his reputation as one of the best spoilers in the game, with his ability to zone off his opponent and assist his teammates by being third man up is one of the best in the competition.

He reads the ball well in the air and is reliable in one on one contests.

This season, he also added an offensive aspect to his game in the absence of key running backs Grant Birchall and Matt Suckling.

He played in 24 of 25 matches and averaged 18.2 disposals and was ranked number one at the Club for one percenters and third for effective disposal efficiency.

Other award winners on the night were Jack Gunston (Best Player in Finals), Isaac Smith (Most Promising), Taylor Duryea (Best First Year Player), Luke Hodge (Best Clubman) and Ben Stratton (Most Consistent).

Final 2013 Peter Crimmins Medal leaderboard
Josh Gibson 178
Jarryd Roughead 167
Sam Mitchell 157
Ben Stratton 152
Luke Hodge 146
Shaun Burgyone 127
Grant Birchall 120
Luke Breust 116
Jack Gunston 116
Isaac Smith 109