TelstraAFL Live Pass
Main content
Hawthorn Header Branding

Latest Hawks TV


Hawks in 22under22  August 23, 2017 11:00 AM

Burton has been named in the extended 22under22 squad after a breakout season with the Hawks.

Two Hawks have been named in the AFL Players’ 22Under22 squad for 2017.

Both James Sicily and Ryan Burton are among the 11 defenders given the nod in the 40-man extended squads, after impressive 2017 campaigns amidst a young Hawthorn backline.

Sicily has averaged 18 disposals, 2.4 rebound 50s and 6.6 marks a game after commencing his season in the forward line before shifting down back in Round 14 and finding career best form. 

Read: Sicily re-signs

Burton, in just his second year at the club, is averaging 21.3 disposals, 3.8 rebound 50s and 5.7 marks, and is one of the hot favourites to take out this year’s NAB Rising Star Award after a Round 2 nomination.

Both youngsters will now be competing with the likes of Jake Lever (Adelaide), Callum Mills (Sydney) and Jayden Hunt (Melbourne) for a spot in the back six.

A fan vote will decide the final 22, with the result to be revealed on September 12th

See the 40-man squad and the breakdown of teams below. 

Vote for your 22under22 here.



Marcus Bontempelli (Western Bulldogs), Zach Merrett (Essendon), Patrick Cripps (Carlton), Isaac Heeney (Sydney Swans), Christian Petracca (Melbourne), Ollie Wines (Port Adelaide), Clayton Oliver (Melbourne), Josh Kelly (GWS Giants), Matt Crouch (Adelaide Crows), Jack Sinclair (St Kilda), Jack Steele (St Kilda), Zak Jones (Sydney Swans), Caleb Daniel (Western Bulldogs), Dom Sheed (West Coast), Lachie Hunter (Western Bulldogs), Toby McLean (Western Bulldogs) 


Orazio Fantasia (Essendon), Jack Billings (St Kilda), Lewis Taylor (Brisbane Lions), Jack Martin (Gold Coast Suns), Dan Butler (Richmond), Peter Wright (Dual position) (Gold Coast Suns), Charlie Curnow (Carlton), Darcy Moore (Collingwood), Eric Hipwood (Brisbane Lions), Daniel Rioli (Richmond), Tom Papley (Sydney), Cam McCarthy (Fremantle) 


Jake Lever (Adelaide Crows), Harris Andrews (Brisbane Lions), Oscar McDonald (Melbourne), Tom Barrass (West Coast), Jayden Hunt (Melbourne), Callum Mills (Sydney Swans), Ryan Burton (Hawthorn), Andrew McGrath (Essendon), Luke McDonald (North Melbourne), James Sicily (Hawthorn), Connor Blakely (Fremantle Dockers)


Peter Wright (Dual position) (Gold Coast Suns) and Sean Darcy (Fremantle)


ADELAIDE (2): Jake Lever, Matt Crouch
BRISBANE (3): Harris Andrews, Lewis Taylor, Eric Hipwood
CARLTON (2): Charlie Curnow, Patrick Cripps
COLLINGWOOD (1): Darcy Moore
ESSENDON (3): Andy McGrath, Orazio Fantasia, Zach Merrett
FREMANTLE (3): Connor Blakely, Cam McCarthy, Sean Darcy
GEELONG (0): -
GOLD COAST (2): Jack Martin, Peter Wright
GWS GIANTS (1): Josh Kelly
HAWTHORN (2): Ryan Burton, James Sicily
MELBOURNE (4): Oscar McDonald, Jayden Hunt, Christian Petracca, Clayton Oliver
NORTH MELBOURNE (1): Luke McDonald
PORT ADELAIDE (1): Ollie Wines
RICHMOND (2): Dan Butler, Daniel Rioli
ST KILDA (3): Jack Billings, Jack Sinclair, Jack Steele
SYDNEY (4): Callum Mills, Tom Papley, Isaac Heeney, Zak Jones
WEST COAST (2): Tom Barrass, Dom Sheed
WESTERN BULLDOGS (4): Marcus Bontempelli, Caleb Daniel, Lachie Hunter, Toby McLean

Read: Hawks have plenty to play for in Round 23 - Smith