TelstraAFL Live Pass
Main content
Hawthorn Header Branding

Latest Hawks TV


Battle of the free kicks  September 13, 2017 11:30 AM

Finals Face Off #5 Buckenara v Loveridge Which match-winning free-kick finals goal gets your vote?

As with Luke Shuey this week, kicking a goal to win a final is where folklore is born, especially when there has been a dubious free kick awarded just prior. Both of today’s challengers were the beneficiaries of frees from the umpire, it’s Gary Buckenara v Richard Loveridge.

Gary Buckenara’s place in the hearts and minds of Hawthorn and Melbourne fans was assured with his after the siren goal in the 1987 Preliminary Final at Waverley Park. 

With just seconds remaining and the Hawks trailing by four points, Chris Langford kicked to the lead of Buckenara who received a free kick right on the 50m arc of Waverley Park.

Before he could take his kick, the siren sounded and fresh faced Irishman by the name of Jim Stynes – playing just his 13th game – errantly ran across the mark. The umpire had no choice but to award a crucial 15m penalty.

The penalty would bring Buckenara within range and the hearts of Demons fans would be crushed as ‘Bucky’ kicked the goal – his fifth of the day – sending the Hawks to the Grand Final for the fifth straight year.

Melbourne was playing it’s first finals series since 1964 and were on an inspired run from fifth spot.

In the 1983 Qualifying Final, Hawthorn held a 21-point lead at three quarter time, thanks to six goals from Peter Knights and some great play from Terry Wallace and Russell Greene.

However, Fitzroy had a brilliant side, and led by Bernie Quinlan with five of their seven goals for the term, the Lions looked destined for a famous win.

The umpires were involved, with first a controversial free kick for deliberate out of bounds awarded to Michael Tuck, followed by a soft free kick to Richard Loveridge allowing both players to convert and ensure a Hawthorn victory.

Loveridge’s goal was the sealer of a brilliant game – and helped secured a win that would see the Hawks win the premiership and commence and unbelievable run of five flags in the next 9 years.

Vote for your favourite moment below and tune in tomorrow to see who progresses and who will be in Finals Face Off #6. 

Watch previous Finals Face Off rounds and see who won.

Finals Face Off #1 Crawford v Langford
Finals Face Off #2 Dunstall v Dew
Finals Face Off #3 Hudson v Brereton

Finals Face Off #4 Hodge v Burgoyne