TelstraAFL Live Pass
Main content

Latest Hawks TV

VFL Grand Final parade

4:00pm  Sep 21, 2018

Nixon 'Trust the system'

3:44pm  Sep 21, 2018

VFLW Grand Final Team Update

9:14am  Sep 21, 2018

Mackie 'Play our own game'

5:28pm  Sep 20, 2018


Silk's second shot at international glory, Marc McGowan  October 12, 2017 1:22 PM

This will be Burgoyne's second time representing Australia, following his selection in 2008.

This will be Burgoyne's second time representing Australia, following his selection in 2008.

Shaun Burgoyne will represent Australia for the second time this November, having been named in the 17-man squad set to face Ireland in the Virgin Australia International Rules Series.

Burgoyne will be hoping for his first taste of international success, after going down by a mere five points nine years ago in the 2008 series.

The 34-year-old is Hawthorn’s sole representative, with Adelaide (three), Port Adelaide (three), Essendon (two) and Geelong (two) the only sides with multiple players.

Ireland currently holds the Cormac McAnnellen Trophy thanks to its victory in the one-off Test at Croke Park in Dublin two years ago.  

Matches will be played at Adelaide Oval on Sunday, November 12 and Perth's Domain Stadium on Saturday, November 18.  

Geelong coach Chris Scott is in charge of the Australian side, with support from his brother Brad Scott and Fremantle's Ross Lyon.  

The captain and leadership group will be named closer to the first Test, and there could be playing additions to the squad depending on selected members' availability.  

Scott said the squad was a mix of players with previous experience in the hybrid game, as well as debutants who were All Australians this year or still had outstanding seasons.  

"Selection in the Australian side is about both recognising the great players in our competition, and those players who are emerging as stars who will dominate the seasons to come," Scott said.

"As selectors, we needed to balance the team with players who have represented Australia before, and understand the game and how it is played against Ireland, and also look to the next generation of elite players who deserve the opportunity to represent us on an international stage.

"All Australian selection at some point in a player’s career was a pre-requisite for consideration, as we also believe that the best players want to learn from each other and provide an environment where they can be better again when they return to their clubs."

The squad will gather in Adelaide in the week before the first Test.  

Ticket prices for both venues start at $25 for adults and $50 for a family ticket.  

Read: The PCM Gold Carpet looks



Gary Ablett (Gold Coast), All Australian 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010 (vice-captain), 2011 (captain), 2012 (vice-captain), 2013 (vice-captain), 2014. Never previously played IRS.

Eddie Betts (Adelaide), All Australian 2015, 2016, 2017. IRS representative 2010, 2015.

Travis Boak (Port Adelaide), All Australian 2014, 2014. IRS representative 2014.

Shaun Burgoyne (Hawthorn), All Australian 2006. IRS representative 2008.

Patrick Dangerfield (Geelong), All Australian 2012, 2013, 2015, 2016, 2017. IRS representative 2010, 2014, 2015.

Nathan Fyfe (Fremantle), All Australian 2015, 2015. Never previously played IRS.

Brendon Goddard (Essendon), All Australian 2009, 2010. IRS representative 2006, 2014, 2015.

Toby Greene (Greater Western Sydney). All Australian 2006. Never previously played IRS.

Michael Hibberd (Melbourne), All Australian 2017. Never previously played IRS.

Rory Laird (Adelaide), All Australian 2017. Never previously played IRS.

Zac Merrett (Essendon), All Australian 2017. Never previously played IRS.

Scott Pendlebury (Collingwood), All Australian 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014. IRS representative 2008.

Paddy Ryder (Port Adelaide), All Australian 2017. Never previously played IRS.

Joel Selwood (Geelong), All Australian 2009, 2010, 2013 (captain), 2014 (captain), 2016 (captain), 2017. IRS representative 2014 (captain).

Rory Sloane (Adelaide), All Australian 2016. Never previously played IRS.

Chad Wingard (Port Adelaide), All Australian 2013, 2015. IRS representative 2014.

Dayne Zorko (Brisbane Lions), All Australian 2017. Never previously played IRS.