Main content

Latest Hawks TV


Newbold congratulates Franklin

Andrew Newbold  January 30, 2013 10:51 AM

Lance Franklin will captain the Indigenous All-Stars team in a match against Richmond.

Lance Franklin will captain the Indigenous All-Stars team in a match against Richmond.

Hawthorn Football Club President Andrew Newbold offers his congratulations to forward Lance Franklin on being named captain of the Indigenous All-Stars team in the below statement.

On behalf of the Club and its members and supporters, I would like to congratulate Lance Franklin on his appointment as Captain of the 2013 Indigenous All-Stars team.

The Club is privileged to have fine Indigenous role models such as Lance, along with Shaun Burgoyne, Cyril Rioli and others, amongst its playing ranks.

I personally am extremely proud of our Club’s commitment to, and involvement in, recognising Indigenous Australians’ contribution to the national competition, and believe Lance’s appointment is further recognition of that.

With all seven of Hawthorn’s Indigenous players attending the AFL Players’ Association Indigenous Camp next week the Hawks boast the biggest representation of all clubs, which is consistent with Hawthorn’s commitment to its Indigenous programs and players.

We wish Lance all the best in his leadership role, and I am certain he will set a fine example for both his teammates and young Indigenous Australians by continuing to promote the values and qualities that he has displayed as such a prominent member of Hawthorn Football Club.


The Indigenous All Stars will take on Richmond Football Club on Friday 8 February at 7pm (local time) at Traeger Park in Alice Springs.

Former Swans star Michael O’Loughlin will coach the All Stars and will be assisted by Shaun Burgoyne, Adam Goodes and Roger Hayden.

Hawks players expected to line up in the match include Lance Franklin (Captain), Bradley Hill, Derick Wanganeen, Amos Frank and Jed Anderson.