The good news stories keep coming, with several big names included in Hawthorn’s Round 13 team line up set to take on the Swans.

Jai Newcombe was confirmed this morning to make his AFL debut this Friday night – a mere nine days since joining the Hawks’ list via the NAB Mid-Season Draft.

He’ll be joined in the senior line up by a returning trio consisting of Vice Captain Jaeger O’Meara and promising youngsters Will Day and Harry Morrison.

Head of Football Rob McCartney says the inclusions are cause for optimism as the Hawks prepare to travel to Sydney.

“It’s always an exciting time when you announce a debutant and this one offers a point of difference as Jai has come in through the recent mid-season draft” McCartney said. 

“We have seen first hand through the Box Hill program the attributes Jai brings to the game, he is a strong competitor and he uses the ball well. His form at this level warrants his immediate selection at AFL level.

“It’s also fantastic to have Jaeger back to bolster our midfield.

“He has probably been our most consistent performer this season and his leadership was something our young group missed against Gold Coast. 

“And on the opposite end of the spectrum in terms of experience, it’s fantastic to have Will returning from injury and Harry recalled to the senior side.

“Will has worked so diligently throughout his rehab so it’s great to see him returning to the park.”

Mitch Lewis will miss Friday night’s game in line with the AFL’s concussion protocols, after he sustained a head knock in a training session this week.

Josh Morris, Damon Greaves and James Cousins have been omitted from the starting line up, though each remains in contention to be the medical sub – named as emergencies alongside Jonathon Ceglar.

The Hawks enter the match fresh from a Round 12 bye and will be eager to kick off the second half of 2021 with a win.

The match will be played at the SCG at 7.50pm and will be broadcast on Channel 7, Fox Footy and Kayo.

Sydney v Hawthorn
Friday 11 June, 7.50pm AEST

B: Blake Hardwick, Sam Frost, Jarman Impey
HB: Will Day, Tom Phillips, Tim O'Brien
C: Harry Morrison, Jaeger O'Meara, Changkuoth Jiath
HF: James Worpel, Luke Breust, Chad Wingard
F: Dylan Moore, Ned Reeves, Jacob Koschitzke
R: Ben McEvoy, Tom Mitchell, Shaun Burgoyne
Int: Jack Scrimshaw, Daniel Howe, Liam Shiels, Jai Newcombe
Emer: Damon Greaves, James Cousins, Josh Morris, Jonathon Ceglar

IN: O'Meara, Day, Morrison, Newcombe (debut)
OUT: Lewis (concussion), Greaves (omitted), Cousins (omitted), Morris (omitted)

08:54 Mins
Published ago

Alastair Clarkson Press Conference

Hear from the coach as he prepares the side to take on Sydney tomorrow night.

Published ago