A host of inaugural Hawks have put pen to paper for the 2024 season and beyond, with 10 players recommitting to the exciting future of the brown and gold. 

Fan favourite Kaitlyn Ashmore and emerging defender Emily Everist have re-signed until the end of 2026 while Captain Tilly Lucas-Rodd, inaugural runner-up best and fairest Aileen Gilroy, 2024 Most Improved Player Aine McDonagh and talented ruck Lucy Wales have recommitted until the end of 2025. 

Talented quartet Charlotte Baskaran, Louise Stephenson, Ainslie Kemp and Bridget Deed round out the re-signings. 

Ashmore is among the trailblazers of the AFLW competition, having featured in 68 games across eight seasons in the competition as an inaugural player.

Joining the club as an experienced star, the 32-year-old has helped drive Hawthorn’s strong culture as a versatile and selfless leader, guiding an emerging group.

Walking through the doors as a raw teenager, Everist has shown an incredible desire to learn and grow, backed up by a strong work ethic to match.

The 19-year-old arrived at Hawthorn following an impressive soccer career and has since used her pace and endurance to become a vital cog in the club’s defence.

Like Ashmore, Lucas-Rodd has also been a competition trailblazer from the start, while also serving as Hawthorn’s inaugural AFLW captain and best and fairest winner.

The 28-year-old’s leadership has grown in leaps and bounds as skipper and now gets the exciting opportunity to work closely with new Senior Coach Daniel Webster in a new era for the team. 

Gilroy has made a big impression during her time at the brown and gold, on the back of her incredible appetite for the contest and her ability to lead both by voice and example. 

The 31-year-old has played an important role in shaping the competitive culture at the club and continues to push her teammates and hold them to high standards.

Irish compatriot McDonagh has been just as impressive, having led the team’s goalkicking in just her second season of AFLW last year.

The 25-year-old has a bright future ahead of her in the brown and gold, after taking out Hawthorn’s Most Improved Player last season.

Wales is another rising star with a bright future, after playing 19 of a possible 20 games in brown and gold since being drafted with Pick 22 in 2022.

The 20-year-old has flourished in the ruck across her two seasons, highlighted by being nominated for the league’s Rising Star award twice.

Meanwhile, Baskaran and Deed continue to show exciting flashes in a midfield stacked with potential, while Kemp and Stephenson have provided valuable leadership across their first two seasons with the Hawks.

Hawthorn AFLW List Manager Keegan Brooksby was delighted by the show of faith from 10 of the club’s inaugural stars.

“We’re thrilled to have inaugural Hawks Emily, Kaitlyn, Tilly, Aileen, Aine, Lucy, Charlotte, Louise, Ainslie and Bridget recommit to the exciting future at Hawthorn,” Brooksby said.

“These players have all expressed their desire to achieve success at Hawthorn in the years ahead and they will all no doubt play important roles in helping us get there.

“The strong culture that we have today was shaped by these inaugural Hawks and we look forward to them continuing to be role models for our young and talented group and continue to raise the standards.

“It is an exciting time to be a Hawks fan, with these 10 players joining Jasmine Fleming and Laura Elliott in recommitting to the direction of our club under new Senior Coach Daniel Webster.”

Join Everist, Lucas-Rodd, Ashmore, McDonagh, Kemp, Deed, Wales, Baskaran, Stephenson and Gilroy in signing on by becoming an AFLW member! Sign up here.