Over the course of the next six weeks, Hawthorn will be putting fans in the coaches box and giving them a unique opportunity to choose their ultimate line-up of each decade since 1960. 

Those who enter at least one team during the competition will go into the draw to win a 2019 team signed guernsey. 

First decade in the spotlight: the ‘60s.

Here’s a few highlights to jog your memory…

What a decade it was. We only had to wait 26 years, but finally, in 1961, we had our first piece of silverware.

The Hawks walked away premiers after defeating Footscray by 43 points in front of 107,935 fans at the MCG. 

The team looked a chance of saluting again in 1963, finishing the home and away season as minor premiers. It wasn’t to be, with the brown and gold suffering a heartbreaking 49-point Grand Final loss to Geelong – marking the start of a long rivalry between the two clubs.

Sadly, finals appearances stopped here, with the Hawks not making it to the big dance for the rest of the decade. 

After captaining the club to its inaugural premiership, Graham Arthur continued to lead the side for most of the ‘60s, before handing it over to David Parkin in 1969. 

John Peck, Malcom Hill and Jack Cunningham were some of the key goal getters over the ten years, while down the other end of the ground were the likes of John McArthur and Graham Cooper, who were marshalling the backline.

Make sure your favourite players make it into the Fans’ Team of the Decade: select your team in the Official Hawthorn Football Club app. You can also download the app from the Apple store or Google Play.