Victoria has named its squad ahead of this year’s Invacare Wheelchair Football National Championships, with Hawthorn’s Peter Ogunyemi representing the club for the second consecutive season.

In the Victorian squad for the fourth time, Ogunyemi will be on the senior end of a squad that includes three debutants Anthony Perito, Ryan Smith and Yasmina McGlone.

The Victorian side will be looked to improve on its third-placed finish at last year’s event.

Read: Forward thinking with Chad

Although the national competition has an open classification system where people with or without a disability are able to participate, this year will be the first time that all Victorian representatives identify as having a physical disability or impairment.

The squad highlights the success of the Robert Rose Foundation Victorian Wheelchair Football League in identifying new talent and supporting players as they develop in the sport.

Ogunyemi was recently named captain of the Hawks for the second consecutive year. 

Hawthorn will enter the 2019 season supported by the new partnership with leading disability service provider Afford.

The partnership encourages inclusivity, healthy lifestyles and opportunity for people living with disability across Victoria.

For more information on Afford, click here