Hawks half back Jayde Van Dyk has been crowned Hawthorn’s 2018 VFLW Best and Fairest after a stellar season in the brown and gold.

Van Dyk, awarded the league’s Rising Star Award for 2018, finished ahead of runner-up Rebecca Beeson and third-placed Meg Hutchins. The 22-year old averaged 15 disposals this season and was also named back pocket in the VFLW team of the year.

Versatile midfielder Rosie Dillon was awarded Most Promising Player and Steph Carroll named Best Club Person. 

AFLW star Sarah Perkins was awarded leading goal kicker, scoring sixteen majors for the season. Already an AFLW premiership player with the Crows, Perkins celebrated a grand final victory last month in the brown and gold, the team she grew up supporting, before returning to Adelaide in preparation for next season.

Read: All the VFLW votes from the best and fairest count

VFLW Best and Fairest Top 10

1. Jayde Van Dyk

63 votes

2. Rebecca Beeson

53 votes

3. Meg Hutchins

49 votes

4. Emma Mackie

46 votes

5. Chantella Perera

46 votes

6. Tamara Luke

45 votes

7. Ebony Nixon

42 votes

8. Julia Crockett - Grills

38 votes

9. Kim Ebb

35 votes

10. Pepa Randall

33 votes


Club awards 

VFLW Most Promising Player – Rosie Dillon

VFLW Best Club Person – Steph Carroll

Leading Goal Kicker - Sarah Perkins


VFLW Best and Fairest voting procedure

Votes for the 2018 VFLW Best and Fairest were awarded by two groups, Senior Coach Patrick Hill and combined votes from Assistant Coaches Brett Alexander, Stephen Boakes and Dave Carden. A maximum of 10 votes can be accumulated by a player after the two voting cards are submitted using the following grading system:

● Five votes for an exceptional game
Four votes for having a significant influence
Three votes for influencing the game

Two votes for an important contribution

One vote for playing your role 

There is no restriction on the number of players who receive votes in a match.