­­Tom Mitchell has capped off an exceptional season, winning the Peter Crimmins Medal for the second consecutive year. 

Mitchell was crowned Hawthorn’s Best and Fairest at Crown Palladium on Saturday night for his outstanding season which included breaking the VFL/AFL record for most disposals in a game (54). The 25-year old collected 848 disposals and 192 clearances across the course of the home and away season.

His Peter Crimmins Medal win added to a long list of accolades for Mitchell in 2018, including All Australian honours, the AFL Players’ Association MVP Award and the highest individual accolade in the game, the Brownlow Medal.

Mitchell polled 163 votes, to finish ahead of runner-up Blake Hardwick (127 votes) and third-placed Isaac Smith (125 votes).

Jack Gunston and Jaeger O’Meara rounded out the top five vote getters with 121 and 120 votes respectively.

Dual premiership player Taylor Duryea was awarded Best Clubman and 19-year old James Worpel received Best First Year Player.

Named in the All Australian forward line this season, Gunston was awarded Most Consistent Player while third year Hawk Blake Hardwick was judged Most Promising Player.

Co-vice-captain Liam Shiels was named Best Player in Finals. The 27-year old collected 26 disposals, 11 tackles and a goal in the Hawks qualifying final, and 23 disposals, 6 tackles and 4 marks in the semi-final. Shiels finished the season second on the Hawks tally for total disposals (532) and tackles (149).

Read: All the votes from PCM 2018

Peter Crimmins Medal Top 10

1. Tom Mitchell

163 votes

2. Blake Hardwick

127 votes

3. Isaac Smith

125 votes

4. Jack Gunston

121 votes

5. Jaeger O’Meara

120 votes

6. Luke Breust

119 votes

7. Ben Stratton

112 votes

8. Ben McEvoy

99 votes

9. Liam Shiels

99 votes

10. James Sicily

87 votes


Club awards

Best First Year Player – James Worpel

Most Promising Player – Blake Hardwick

Most Consistent Player – Jack Gunston

Best Clubman – Taylor Duryea

Best Player in Finals – Liam Shiels


Peter Crimmins Medal voting procedure:

Votes for the 2018 Peter Crimmins Medal were awarded after each home-and-away game by the Hawthorn Football Club Match Committee, consisting of Senior Coach Alastair Clarkson, Head of Coaching and Development Damian Carroll and Assistant Coach Brett Ratten. A maximum of 16 votes can be accumulated by a player each game.