Hawthorn has added another inaugural AFLW player to its list with the signing of Kate McCarthy.

The exciting utility burst onto the scene for Brisbane in 2017, winning the club’s goalkicking and being named in the AFLW All Australian team.

After playing 23 games for the Lions, she then moved to St Kilda and made 16 appearances before joining the Hawks as a delisted free agent.

At the Saints, McCarthy was a member of the leadership group in 2020 before being appointed as co-vice-captain in 2021.

Soar With Us in 2022 - Sign up to become a Hawthorn AFLW Foundation member!

Hawthorn AFLW List Manager Mitchell Cashion looked forward to McCarthy providing some X-factor to the Hawks squad.

“Kate is an established leader and footballer in the AFLW and we’re pleased she has decided to join Hawthorn on our AFLW journey,” Cashion said.

“She’s a crafty utility who can burn off her opponent in a flash, which will provide an exciting prospect for Hawks fans.”

McCarthy joins Bridget Deed, Zoe Barbakos, Sophie Locke, Dominique Carbone, Eliza Shannon, Tegan Cunningham, Tilly Lucas-Rodd, Jess Duffin, Janet Baird, Akec Makur Chuot, Sarah Perkins, Louise Stephenson, Tahlia Fellows, Tamara Luke, Jenna Richardson, Aileen Gilroy, Ainslie Kemp, Isabelle Porter, Catherine Brown and Kaitlyn Ashmore on Hawthorn’s strong AFLW list.