Hawthorn welcomed three new AFLW Hawks this week, signing exciting on-baller Tamara Smith and experienced stars Kaitlyn Ashmore and Kate McCarthy ahead of the club’s inaugural season.

Ashmore and McCarthy join fellow Hawks recruits Jess Duffin, Ainslie Kemp, Tilly Lucas-Rodd, Akec Makur Chuot, Sarah Perkins and Lou Stephenson as inaugural AFLW players.

The duo also both were originally drafted by Brisbane before moving on to other clubs, with Ashmore joining Hawthorn from North Melbourne and McCarthy from St Kilda.

Soar With Us in 2022 - Sign up to become a Hawthorn AFLW Foundation member!

Smith, who hails from Geelong’s VFLW side, is leading the league in total tackles (123) while ranking sixth in kicks (189) and eighth in disposals (252) from 11 games.

The 22-year-old was overlooked in a series of drafts and has a point to prove at AFLW level this season.

Hawthorn now heads into the NAB AFLW Draft on June 29 with picks 1, 3, 5, 6, 11, 12, 13 and 40.