Hawthorn Brown has claimed a 133 - 106 victory over Hawthorn Gold to take out the 2023 Victorian Blind Football League premiership on Saturday afternoon at Action Indoor Sports Tullamarine.

Hawks Brown burst out of the blocks to start the game, leading by as much as 80 points on the cusp of half-time.

However, a late score from Hawks Gold reduced the margin to 56 points at the main break, giving them a sniff going into the second half.

The underdogs were able to will themselves back into the contest off the back of some great strategy and captaincy from star playmaker Ned Brewer Maiga. 

Despite not having their captain out on the field, Hawthorn Brown's squad all demonstrated great leadership of their own, withstanding the pressure of Hawthorn Gold to extend their lead time and time again during the game. 

Acting co-captain Reuben Fairbank was unstoppable and was awarded the Player of the Match as a result. 

Fellow co-captain Travis Zimmer also shone in attack, kicking three goals for the match.

In the end, Hawthorn Brown won the last game of the season by 27 points, capping off a remarkable campaign in the new-look competition.

Scoring summary 

HAWTHORN BROWN 36 90 111 133
HAWTHORN GOLD  10 34 70 106

Hawthorn Brown scoring 

N. Letts  2 36
A. Smith  2 36
T. Zimmer  4 42
S. Peucker  2 18
K. Williams  1 9


Hawthorn Gold scoring 

C. Johnson  1 42
A. Close  1 36
N. Brewer Maiga  2 18
P. Frank  1 9
D. Gauci    1