A huge line-up of AFL stars has been confirmed for the 24th annual E.J. Whitten Legends Game on Friday 30 August at AAMI Park.

Now an annual football institution, the game attracts some of the biggest stars in AFL/VFL history, with this year’s squads amassing 9,144 goals, 8,561 games, 71 All Australian selections, 30 AFL Premierships and six Brownlow Medals between them.

Debutants include ex-Fremantle tagger Ryan Crowley, Western Bulldogs favourites Bob Murphy and Matthew Boyd, Essendon utility Nathan Lovett-Murray and Carlton and North Melbourne goal kicking machine Jarrad Waite for Victoria, while Andrew Krakouer will don All Stars colours for the first time.

Former Brownlow Medallist and 250-game superstar, Adam Cooney said he was looking forward to the traditional state-based rivalry and honouring the late, great Ted Whitten Snr.

Dermott Brereton will coach the Victorians with Brendan Fevola as captain, while Wayne Carey will be at the helm for the All Stars with last year’s E.J. Whitten Medal winner Andrew Jarman skippering the visitors.

Returning favourites include Brent Harvey, Cameron Ling, Campbell Brown, Jimmy Bartel and Matthew Richardson.

Held during the AFL’s Celebration of Football week, the much-loved E.J. Whitten Legends Game shines a light on the importance of early detection and treatment of men’s health issues and is a major fundraiser for the E.J. Whitten Foundation.

Since its inception, the E.J. Whitten foundation has raised over $13.5 million for men’s health awareness programs and prostate cancer research and treatment.

The E.J. Whitten Legends Game will be broadcast from 7.30pm EST by the Seven Network, 7Mate and Foxtel, and via the Telstra AFL Live Pass and Kayo. Tickets via ticketek.com.au.

Full squads for the 2019 E.J. Whitten Legends Game:


Coach: Dermott Brereton 
Captain: Brendon Fevola 
Anthony Koutoufides 
Bob Murphy 
Brad Johnson 
Ben Dixon 
Brent Harvey 
Cameron Ling 
Campbell Brown 
Daniel Harford 
Jarrad Waite 
Jimmy Bartel 
Josh Gibson 
Matthew Boyd 
Nathan Lovett-Murray 
Ryan Crowley 
Travis Cloke 
Stephen Milne

All Stars 

Coach: Wayne Carey 
Captain: Andrew Jarman 
Adam Cooney 
Alan Didak 
Andrew Krakouer 
Andrew McLeod 
Brad Green 
Daniel Kerr 
Gavin Wanganeen 
Glen Jakovich 
Justin Koschitzke 
Leon Davis 
Mark Ricciuto 
Matthew Richardson 
Scott Cummings