Hawthorn has confirmed three changes to its starting 22 ahead of Friday night’s Semi Final showdown against the Demons. 

The Hawks will have to face the Demons without in-form duo Ben Stratton (hamstring) and Jaeger O’Meara (knee) who will miss through injury, while ruckman Jonathon Ceglar has been omitted. 

According to GM-Football Graham Wright, O’Meara received a knock to the knee during Hawthorn’s Qualifying Final loss to Richmond.

Despite playing out the match, the midfielder experienced soreness during the week and was unable to prove his fitness in time for selection.

“Unfortunately Jaeger sustained a knock to his left knee during last week’s match,” Wright said. 

“We gave him every opportunity to get himself right for the Semi Final, but he just hasn’t pulled up in time. 

“He’s an important player so it’s certainly disappointing, but we’re lucky to have a number of guys knocking on the door at Box Hill.”

Ryan Schoenmakers, Taylor Duryea and David Mirra have all been included in the side, with the latter preparing to play his first AFL final. 

The Hawks will host the Demons at the MCG Friday night. For one side, the result will mean a Preliminary Final clash against the Eagles, while for the other, it’s curtains for 2018.

Super match preview: Hawks v Demons

Hawthorn v Melbourne
Friday 14th Sep, 7.50pm

B: Taylor Duryea, James Frawley, Blake Hardwick
HB: Jarman Impey, James Sicily, Ryan Burton
C: Isaac Smith, Tom Mitchell, Liam Shiels
HF: Shaun Burgoyne, Jarryd Roughead, Jack Gunston
F: Luke Breust, Conor Nash, Paul Puopolo
R: Ben McEvoy, Daniel Howe, James Worpel
INT: David Mirra, Harry Morrison, Ricky Henderson, Ryan Schoenmakers 
EMER: Jonathon Ceglar, Brendan Whitecross, Kaiden Brand, James Cousins

IN: Ryan Schoenmakers, Taylor Duryea, David Mirra
OUT: Ben Stratton (hamstring), Jaeger O’Meara (knee), Jonathon Ceglar (omitted)