Hawthorn has revealed its new coaching line up, with four former AFL captains named as the club’s line coaches for 2019.

Sam Mitchell (Hawthorn), Chris Newman (Richmond), Scott Burns (Collingwood) Darren Glass (West Coast) all captained their respective sides during their playing careers, before joining Hawthorn as assistants under Alastair Clarkson.

Returning to the club with which he won four premierships, Mitchell is set to look after the Hawks’ midfield group. 

Newman, who was elevated to assistant coach after leading Box Hill to a premiership, will be responsible for stoppages. 

Burns and Glass, both in their second year at the club, will assume the roles of forward line coach and backline coach respectively.

GM- Football Graham Wright said: 

“Each of our line coaches have a great understanding of Hawthorn’s program, and we’re confident they’ll complement each other nicely.

“They’ve all captained their respective clubs at different stages during their careers, which demonstrates the quality of leadership we have within our coaching panel.” 

Read: Nissan driving the Hawks in 2019

After four years as a line coach, Adem Yze will shift into the newly formed position of head of match day strategy & opposition.

Damian Carroll will focus on the development of all coaches and players, stepping into the role of head of development & learning.

Damian Monkhorst will continue his work as ruck coach, rounding out the seven-man coaching panel that will assist Clarkson in the year ahead.

“We’re really pleased with how our coaching line up is looking,” Wright said.

“With Sam and Chris coming on board, it gives an opportunity for the likes of Adem, Scott and Damian (Carroll) to take on different portfolios,” Wright said. 

“This will offer us greater depth and flexibility within our coaching panel going forward.”

Max Bailey will head up the VFL program as Box Hill senior coach, working closely with Marco Bello (development coach - academy) and Torin Baker (development coach).

Read: Influential figures awarded life membership

Hawthorn’s 2019 coaching line up:

Alastair Clarkson – Senior Coach
Damian Carroll – Head of Development & Learning
Adem Yze – Head of Match Day Strategy & Opposition
Darren Glass – Assistant Coach – Defence
Scott Burns – Assistant Coach – Forward line
Chris Newman – Assistant Coach – Stoppages
Sam Mitchell – Assistant Coach – Midfield
Damian Monkhorst – Ruck Coach
Marco Bello – Development Coach – Academy
Torin Baker – Development Coach
Max Bailey – Box Hill Senior Coach