Hawthorn Football Club will farewell five players from its list this week.

Keegan Brooksby, James Cousins, Damon Greaves, Michael Hartley and Harrison Pepper have been informed they will not be offered contracts for the 2022 season.

Cousins played 35 games for the club including 10 in 2021 following his selection in the 2016 Rookie Draft at Pick 46.

Joining the Hawks in 2019 following a four-year, 44-game span with Essendon, Hartley played five games with the Hawks including three in 2021.

Greaves played 10 games during his time at Hawthorn following his selection at Pick 13 in the 2019 Rookie Draft. He played seven games in 2021.

Hawthorn selected Harrison Pepper in the 2019 rookie draft as a Category B rookie selection via the Next Generation Academy.

Brooksby joined Hawthorn after stints at both the Gold Coast Suns and the West Coast Eagles, playing one game for the Hawks in 2020.

GM - Football Rob McCartney thanked each of the players for their contribution during their time Hawthorn.

“This is always a tough time of year. Each and every one of these men have made a significant contribution to our club,” McCartney said.

“The past two years have been particularly challenging for all of the players and clubs across the league. The commitment of these players during that time is something that should absolutely be commended.”

“We wish them all the best on whatever they do with the next stage of their careers and lives - they will always be part of the broader Hawthorn family.”

These departures bring the total number of players leaving the club after season 2021 to eight. This includes Jonathon Patton and Tom Scully who departed the club throughout the season as well as Shaun Burgoyne who called time on his decorated career at season's end.