Jack Gunston has been crowned the 2020 Peter Crimmins Medallist, after putting together a season which saw him ranked among the best forwards in the competition.

The win marks Gunston’s first Peter Crimmins Medal, as well as his first podium finish in a best-and-fairest.

Read: All the votes

Gunston was a constant in what was a difficult year for the Hawks. His final goal tally for the season (31) meant he took out third place in the Coleman Medal and joined an elite group in the Hawthorn history books finishing the season as the club’s leading goal kicker for a third time in his career (2015, 2016 and 2020).

Gunston polled 102 votes to finish ahead of runner-up Tom Mitchell (96) who was impressive in maintaining his fitness and form as he returned from injury, and third-placed Chad Wingard (73) in his second season in the brown and gold. Gunston was durable and consistent in 2020, missing only one match and polling votes in all of his games played.

Hawthorn Coach Alastair Clarkson noted the reliability and consistency of Gunston’s 2020 campaign.

“Jack had an outstanding season in 2020,” said Clarkson.

“To earn both an All Australian nomination and third place in the Coleman medal in what was a disappointing season for our club, is testament to the character and talent of Jack.

“He tackled the challenges of this season with a great attitude and this reflected in his on-field performances. He stepped up for us on countless occasions throughout the season and was the side’s most consistent performer.

“While this particular honour is an acknowledgement of Jack’s 2020 season, it is also fitting that he add this award to his resume having contributed so much to our club over a long period of time.”

It was double honours for Gunston at the club’s Peter Crimmins Medal, hosted virtually on Wednesday evening, with the key forward also receiving the nod for Most Consistent.

Read: All the club award winners

Peter Crimmins Medal Top 10

1. Jack Gunston
2. Tom Mitchell
3. Chad Wingard
4. Ben McEvoy
5. James Worpel
6. James Sicily
7. Sam Frost
8. Jaeger O’Meara
9. Liam Shiels
10. Will Day 

Peter Crimmins Medal voting procedure:

Votes for the 2020 Peter Crimmins Medal were awarded by four groups after each home-and-away match; Senior Coach Alastair Clarkson, Assistant Coach, Adem Yze, Assistant Coach Chris Newman and one card between Assistant Coaches Sam Mitchell and Scott Burns.

A maximum of 16 votes can be accumulated by a player after the four voting cards are submitted using the following grading system: three votes to the best player or players, two votes for a good game, one vote to players who beat their opponents. On rare occasions a player may receive 4 votes for an exceptional game.

08:05 Mins
Published on

PCM 2020: First Place Jack Gunston

Jack Gunston is the 2020 Peter Crimmins Medallist.

Published on