Hawthorn has won its first ever Victorian Wheelchair Football League (VWFL) premiership following a convincing 65-point win over Richmond on Sunday afternoon at Melbourne Sports & Aquatic Centre.

The premiership win caps off a remarkable season for the Hawks, who finished on top of the ladder and made finals for the first time.

It also serves as a remarkable turnaround for the entire team, having gone winless in 2022 and losing to Richmond by 129 points in the opening round of the 2023 season. 

On Sunday, the Hawks came out of the blocks firing, leading by 21 points at the end of the first term.

Richmond then responded with a bang, outscoring the Hawks 32-14 in the second quarter. 

Still holding a narrow three-point lead going into the third term, Hawthorn bounced back convincingly, with star trio Jaylen Brown, Yassin Hill and Finn Broadbent leading the way. 

The Hawks then carried that momentum into the final term, going on to win the game 123-58. 

Yassin Hill was named Player of the Match following an impressive 12-goal haul, taking his season tally to 114.

Speaking post-game, Hawthorn Captain Joanna Argaet was thrilled with the result. 

"If you told us at the start of this year that we were going to beat the Tiges, who beat us by 130 points in Round 1, I would've told you you were laughing," she said.

"We've grown so well together as a team this year and after five years of pretty much not winning a game to coming out on top. 

"I never thought I would win a flag for the team I'd grown up supporting my entire life."