Impressive youngster Jai Newcombe has finished as Hawthorn's leading Brownlow vote-getter for the second year in a row.

After polling 11 votes last year, Newcombe topped Hawthorn's count with 18 this season to stamp his name as a player to watch in future counts.

The 22-year-old polled in eight games and picked up the three votes on three occasions to finish clear of captain James Sicily (12) and fellow midfielder James WorpelΒ (11).

Newcombe has been a shining light for the Hawks in recent seasons after arriving to the club as Pick 2 in the 2021 NAB AFL Mid-Season Draft.

After a break-out year last year, Newcombe again elevated his game to new heights in 2023, producing a season where he was also named in the All-Australian squad for the first time.

He finished equal 17th on the overall leaderboard, alongside St Kilda's Brad Crouch.

Will Day polled eight votes, while Sam Frost (2) received his first ever Brownlow votes, Karl Amon (2) also polled, alongside Luke Breust, Dylan Moore, Mitch Lewis and Josh Weddle who also received one vote each.Β 

Brisbane's Lachie Neale polled 31 votes to win from Western Bulldogs captain Marcus Bontempelli on 29.

Hawthorn – Top finishers

Jai Newcombe β€” 18 votes

James Sicily β€” 12 votes

James Worpel β€” 11 votes

Will Day β€” 8 votes

Sam Frost β€” 2 votes

Karl Amon β€” 2 votes

Luke Breust β€” 1 vote

Mitch Lewis β€” 1 vote

Dylan Moore β€” 1 vote

Josh Weddle β€” 1 vote

Total votes: 57Β 


Brownlow Medal – overall top 10

1: Lachie Neale (Brisbane) – 31 votes
2: Marcus Bontempelli (Western Bulldogs) – 29 votes
3: Nick Daicos (Collingwood) – 28 votes
4: Errol Gulden (Sydney) - 27 votes
4: Zak Butters (Port Adelaide) - 27 votes
6: Christian Petracca (Melbourne) - 26 votes
7: Caleb Serong (Fremantle) - 24 votes
7: Jack Viney (Melbourne) - 24 votes
9: Patrick Cripps (Carlton) - 22 votes