Hawthorn will welcome back star forward Luke Breust as it prepares for its first home game in Tasmania for the 2024 season this weekend.

Breust joins youngsters Jai Serong and Seamus Mitchell as the three additions to the side when it faces St Kilda at UTAS Stadium on Saturday.

Captain James Sicily is a notable out after injuring his shoulder and ankle during last Sunday's upset win against the Western Bulldogs, while Josh Ward and Harry Morrison have been omitted.

Co-vice Captain Dylan Moore will step up as skipper in his absence. 

General Manager of Football Rob McCartney said it was exciting to have Breust back in the team for the first time since Round 3.

"He definitely adds to the talent we have in our forward line through his ability to score himself as well as creating scoring opportunities for others," McCartney added.

"As co-vice captain of the brown and gold his return is also an injection of leadership for our young developing group.

"Luke sees the game in a manner that allows him to direct and instruct others at crucial moments in the game."

McCartney said it was also pleasing to see Serong get another opportunity at AFL level after a standout VFL performance last week and for Mitchell to line up for his fifth appearance this year.

"Jai continues to show growth in his defensive pursuits and further exposure to the AFL stage is important for his overall development," McCartney added.  

"We also expect Seamus to play an important role in our backline on Saturday as he returns to the side after being managed last week."

McCartney added that the club was particularly excited to return again to its home-away-from-home, UTAS Stadium. 

"We're thrilled to be heading back to Tasmania for the first time during our home-and-away season," McCartney said. 

"We love playing at UTAS Stadium and are really excited to be able to connect with our loyal members and fans down there."

This weekend's match will mark youngster Connor Macdonald's 50th career game as well as the club's 25th annual Blue Ribbon Cup.

One of the AFL’s longest standing traditions, the Blue Ribbon Cup honours the courage and sacrifice of all Victorian police officers and those who have fallen in the line of duty.

The match was first established in 1999 as a tribute to Victoria police members, Sergeant Gary Silk and Senior Constable Rodney Miller who were killed in the line of duty in Moorabbin on 16 August 1998. 

The game will begin at 1.45pm and will be televised live on Fox Footy and Kayo.

Hawks fans can stay across all the match day action on www.hawthornfc.com.au and across its InstagramX and Facebook.

Hawthorn v St Kilda 
Saturday 11 May 
UTAS Stadium, 1.45pm

B: Josh Weddle, Sam Frost, Massimo D'Ambrosio
HB: Jack Scrimshaw, Will Day, Cam Mackenzie 
C: Jarman Impey, Dylan Moore, Karl Amon
HF: Conor Nash, Jack Gunston, Blake Hardwick
F: Jack Ginnivan, Luke Breust, Nick Watson
R: Lloyd Meek, Jai Newcombe, Connor Macdonald

INT: Seamus Mitchell, Calsher Dear, James Worpel, Jai Serong, Finn Maginness

EMER: Ethan Phillips, Josh Ward, Harry Morrison

In: Seamus Mitchell, Luke Breust, Jai Serong 
Out: James Sicily (injury), Harry Morrison (omitted), Josh Ward (omitted)