Saturday’s narrow victory against St Kilda continued Hawthorn’s extraordinary record in close games at University of Tasmania Stadium.

The five-point win was Hawthorn’s ninth by six points or fewer in Launceston, compared to just three defeats (and one draw) in that margin range at the ground. In games decided by 12 points or fewer at University of Tasmania Stadium, Hawthorn has a 15-6 win-loss record.

Overall, Hawthorn has now won 125 games by six points or fewer, compared to 120 defeats (with 13 draws). Hawthorn has won at least one game by six points or fewer for the last nine seasons, the last season it failed to do so being 2015.

Hawthorn’s winning score of 8.10.58 last Saturday was the club’s equal lowest winning score of modern times. This century, the Hawks have twice recorded the same score in wins against North Melbourne, doing so at Docklands in a Covid-era shortened game in 2020 and in Launceston in 2006.

The last time Hawthorn won a game with a score lower than 58 was in 1977 in the famous game at Arden Street when the Hawks kicked 6.12.48 and won by one point when North’s Malcolm Blight missed a chance to win, or draw, the game after the final siren.

Hawthorn’s lowest ever winning score was 5.12.42 to North’s 5.8.38 in 1926. Twice previously the Hawks had defeated St Kilda by scores lower than 58, on both occasions with a score of 48 in 1952 and 1956.

Saturday’s University of Tasmania crowd of 15,112 was the largest for a Hawthorn game at the venue since 2019 when 15,157 attended a loss to the Brisbane Lions.

It was appropriate that Hawthorn is playing Port Adelaide at the Adelaide Oval this round as it marks the 10th anniversary of the Hawks’ first VFL-AFL game at the venue.

In Round 10 2014, Adelaide Oval became Hawthorn’s 29th venue and the game saw an injury-depleted Hawks team go down to the Power by 14 points – 15.10.100 to 13.8.86. Despite missing stars including Sam Mitchell, Jarryd Roughead, Cyril Rioli, Josh Gibson and Brian Lake, Hawthorn was able to stay competitive throughout the game, helped in particular by an extraordinary performance from Jordan Lewis who had 38 disposals and kicked two goals.

Hawthorn has defeated Port Adelaide twice at the Adelaide Oval, in 2016 and 2022, compared to five defeats. Overall, at Adelaide Oval, Hawthorn has a 7-9 split from 16 matches.

Hawthorn won five of 13 regular season games against Port Adelaide at Football Park, the victories coming in 2000, 2007, 2011, 2012 and 2013, however Hawthorn’s most significant win over Port Adelaide at Football Park was in the 2001 Semi Final.

Few gave the Hawks a chance but, in a memorable final quarter, the Hawks fought back from 17 points down to win by three points – 10.12.72 to 10.9.69. John Barker and Daniel Harford kicked crucial late goals, while around-the-ground Mark Graham starred, helping to both set-up and save the win.

At all venues, Hawthorn and Port Adelaide have played 39 times, with the Hawks winning 17 and the Power 22.

Hawthorn has won 10 of its past 13 Round 10 matches, including the past two, defeating Brisbane Lions by five points in 2022 and West Coast by 116 points last season, both games being in Launceston. Overall, this round has been one of Hawthorn’s best with 51 wins and 47 losses from 98 Round 10 games, having had the bye in 2020.

50 years ago, in Round 10 1974, David Parkin played his 200th game. The former captain had returned to the senior team the previous week for his first game of the season and was combining his playing duties with the role of assistant coach. The Hawks marked the milestone with a solid 31-point victory over Geelong at Waverley – 14.13.97 to 10.6.66. Leigh Matthews was outstanding, accumulating 25 kicks and three goals.

60 years ago, in Round 10 1964, Hawthorn dashed out to a five-goal quarter time lead and retained that margin for most of the game, before having to survive a final quarter Collingwood surge to win 15.8.98 to 13.11.89. It was the third time that the Hawks had won at Victoria Park in the early 1960s, a big turnaround from the period from 1925 to 1959 when Hawthorn failed to win there at all in 28 attempts. Ian Law was best-on-ground.

90 years ago, in Round 10 1934, Hawthorn recorded just its second win for the season, defeating North Melbourne by five points at Glenferrie – 6.17.53 to 6.12.48. Jack Green kicked three goals to take his tally to 48 for the season, and he was listed in the best with Ivan McAlpine, Wally Williamson, Bert Hyde and Bert Ashby.

Lance Franklin holds the Hawthorn individual goalkicking record for Round 10 with his 13 goals against North Melbourne in 2012 surpassing the previous round record of nine, held jointly by Peter Knights (1985), Paul Hudson (1991) and Jason Dunstall (1998), against Carlton, Collingwood and Essendon respectively.

Franklin also holds the record for the highest tally by a Hawthorn player against Port Adelaide with eight at the MCG in 2011.