Hawthorn will be hoping that a pattern from early this century repeats this Sunday.

In three seasons - 2004, 2005 and 2010 - the Hawks entered Round 8 with a 1-6 record and in each case then won their second game for the year in Round 8, defeating Fremantle, Melbourne, and Richmond respectively. The 2010 game against the Tigers remains famous for Sam Mitchell’s game-saving tackle in the dying stages.

The only other instance this century of Hawthorn being 1-6 after seven rounds was last year when the second victory of the season did not come until Round 10.

Hawthorn won eight consecutive games against the Bulldogs from 2010 to 2016, the winning sequence started and ended with thrilling three-point victories. In recent seasons results have been mixed, but the Hawks won the most recent encounter in Launceston in Round 22 last season by, you guessed it, three points.

Overall, the Hawks hold an 85-81 advantage in the head-to-head rivalry between the clubs in the VFL-AFL since joining the competition together in 1925, with two draws (in 1996 and 1999), a remarkably close statistic given the 13-2 Premiership differential between the clubs.

Until 1996, an away game against the Bulldogs meant a trip to the Western Oval (now called Whitten Oval). Hawthorn’s final game at the ground was in Round 4 1996, and it was memorable both for the game ending in a draw and Paul Salmon making his Hawthorn debut.

The Hawks trailed at every change and only drew level when Darrin Pritchard scored a late behind to tie the scores at 8.9.57 apiece. At the time, many lamented the miss, but the two points for the draw proved sufficient to ensure Hawthorn snuck into the Eight at the end of the season. Richard Taylor was the Hawks best, while Tim Hargreaves kicked three goals.

Salmon played very well in his first game in brown and gold and went on to win the club best and fairest in his first two seasons at Hawthorn. His 100-game career at the club was so impressive that he was named on the interchange bench in the Hawthorn team of the century.

Lachlan Bramble has this season become the latest ex-Hawk to play for the Western Bulldogs, joining Matt Suckling, Taylor Duryea and Tim O’Brien as others who have recently made the trip across town. This followed another flurry of departures to the kennel in the 1990s and early 2000s when Michael Johnston, Paul Hudson, Simon Minton-Connell and Jade Rawlings moved there.

In the past 35 years the list of those who have made the reverse journey, ex-Bulldogs who have made their way to Hawthorn (sometimes indirectly), includes Darren Baxter, Simon Cox, Matthew Dent, Kingsley Hunter, Wayde Skipper, Brian Lake and Fergus Greene.

Mabior Chol’s suspension after his seventh Hawthorn game is not the earliest in a player’s career in brown and gold to earn the wrath of the game’s judiciary.

Two players, Jeff Murray in 1978 and Peter Everitt in 2003, were suspended after incidents in their debuts for the club, Murray copping a substantial four-week penalty for breaking an opponent’s jaw. The biggest penalty in Hawthorn history, 12 weeks for disputing a decision, was handed to Wal Williams in just his fourth game in 1925.

Hawthorn is narrowly behind on the Round 8 ledger, having recorded 48 wins and 50 defeats (with a bye in 1992). Hawthorn’s most recent Round 8 victory was against GWS at the MCG in 2019.

20 years ago, in Round 8 2004, Hawthorn snapped a six-game losing streak beating Fremantle by nine points in Launceston – 10.10.70 to 8.13.61. Shane Crawford and Richie Vandenberg both kicked two goals and were joined in the best players by Chance Bateman and Trent Croad.

30 years ago, in Round 8 1994, Hawthorn thrashed Brisbane at Waverley by 99 points – 25.16.166 to 10.7.67. Jason Dunstall kicked 10 goals, with Tim Hargreaves and Jason Taylor both booting three. Anthony Condon, Mark Graham and Darren Jarman all had 28 disposals. Hargreaves’ goals took his tally in the first three games of his AFL career to 10.

40 years ago, in Round 8 1984, Hawthorn thrashed recent bogey team Carlton by 68 points – 23.13.151 to 12.11.83. Hawthorn had only won two of its previous 12 games against Carlton, but this result was never in doubt after the Hawks kicked a stunning 10.3 in the first quarter. John Kennedy kicked five of the 10 opening term goals, while the Brownlow votes went to Chris Mew, Russell Greene and Robert Dipierdomeico.

50 years ago, in Round 8 1974, Hawthorn recorded a comfortable 48-point win against lowly Melbourne at the MCG – 13.21.99 to 6.15.51. Michael Moncrieff kicked four goals and Leigh Matthews three, however it was Leigh’s brother, Kelvin Matthews, who headed the best players list along with Hendrie, Crimmins, Knights, Martello and Meagher.

60 years ago, in Round 8 1964, a crowd of 26,000 at Glenferrie saw the Hawks defeat Essendon by 14 points – 9.8.62 to 6.12.48. Hawthorn was missing John Peck and Ian Law, who were playing for Victoria, plus the injured pair of David Parkin and Garry Young. In their absence, Phil Hay continued his outstanding recent form with another best-on-ground performance with Nalder, McPherson, Olsson, Cooper and Dickson also among the best.

70 years ago, in Round 8 1954, Hawthorn defeated South Melbourne at the Lakeside Oval by nine points – 8.10.58 to 6.13.49. Clayton ‘Candles’ Thompson kicked four goals and Wally Nash booted two, with the best players listed as Kennedy, O’Mahony, Fletcher, Thompson, Philp and Simmonds.

The big names dominate the leading goal-kickers in Round 8. Peter Hudson booted 13 in this round in 1970 (against South Melbourne), while Jason Dunstall kicked 10 in 1994 (against Brisbane).

Dunstall also holds the Hawthorn individual goal-kicking record against the Bulldogs with 14 goals at Waverley in Round 19 1996.