This year the Hawks celebrated Indigenous Round with an Indigenous Feast, see how it went down on HawksTV above.

In Round 8 the AFL celebrates Indigenous Round, recognising Indigenous Australians in the game.

Indigenous players make up 11 per cent of all AFL-listed players.

Hawthorn has seven indigenous players on its list - Chance Bateman, Shaun Burgoyne, Amos Frank, Lance Franklin, Bradley Hill, Cyril Rioli and Derick Wanganeen.

Three of the seven players, Lance Franklin, Bradley Hill and Chance Bateman originate from Noongar in Western Australia. Noongar people live in the south-west of Western Australia from Geraldton in the mid west to Esperance on the south coast.

Cyril Rioli hails from the Melville Islands in the north of the Northern Territory. Nearly 2,500 Tiwi people live in the Bathurst and Melville Islands, which make up the Tiwi Islands.

Amos Frank calls the Anangu Pitjantjatjara Yankunytjatjara (APY) Lands home. The most remote homeland of the Club's seven indigenous players, the Lands are located in the remote north west of South Australia with a population of around 2500 people.

Frank's first language Pitjantjatjara is one of the most widely used western desert languages, spoken by thousands of Aboriginal people in central Australia.

Travel south to the west coast of South Australia and you'll find Derick Wanganeen's birth area of Wirangu. A region encompassing modern Ceduna and Streaky Bay, stretching west approximately to the Head of Bight and east to Lake Gairdner.

Shaun Burgoyne is also from South Australia, a place called Kokatha, but also has heritage in Darwin from his mother. Kokatha sits around 500km north-west of Adelaide.

The map below attempts to represent all of the language or tribal or nation groups of Indigenous people in Australia.

Click on the map to view larger (.pdf).