When Dylan Moore next takes the field, he will set a modern-day record for games played wearing number 36 for Hawthorn.

Since Gene Chiron played the last of 33 games in number 36 in 1972 (he moved to number 9 in 1973), a total of 14 different players have worn number 36 in Senior games. However, remarkably, the 13 games played by Barry Young (2000) and Dylan Moore (2019-21) is the most any individual has managed in the number in almost half a century.

Max Bailey began his career in number 36, before first moving to number 1 and then achieving Premiership success in number 39. Josh Kennedy began in 36, moved to number 32, and then achieved success at Sydney. Other number 36s, like Andrew Demetriou and Ricky Nixon, achieved fame in other aspects of football.

The Hawthorn games record holder for number 36 is the late Brian Falconer, who played 57 games from 1956 to 1960. Number 36 is the lowest Hawthorn number, not to have been worn in a Premiership, while six higher numbers have earned that honour.

A nod to the little wins so far in 2021

This Sunday, Hawthorn will be trying to avoid losing consecutive games to Fremantle for just the third time ever. The only previous occasions when the Dockers have won consecutive games against the brown and gold, were in 1997 and 2006-07.

In contrast, Hawthorn has had three sequences of six consecutive wins against Fremantle. The Hawks recorded the first of these from 1998 to 2001, the second from 2011 to 2014 (including the 2013 Grand Final) and the most recent from 2015 to 2019 (including the 2015 Preliminary Final).

The most recent winning sequence ended with a 16-point defeat in Perth in Round 11 last season, when the Dockers won a low-scoring affair 7.6.48 to 4.8.32. Luke Breust kicked two goals and Tom Mitchell got a Brownlow vote for a 32-disposal game.

Overall, the Hawks hold a commanding 28 to nine advantage from 37 games against Fremantle.

Hawthorn also has a winning record at Perth Stadium, having won three of five games there. The victories came against Fremantle (2018), West Coast (2019) and Carlton last season.

While the Hawks have positive records against Fremantle and at Perth Stadium, they will have to overcome a dismal record on the date of 11 April. Since first playing on the date in 1970, Hawthorn has only recorded a solitary victory (versus Collingwood in 1987) but has lost seven games, most recently against Western Bulldogs in 2010.

02:03 Mins
Published on

A chat with everyone's favourite

Fox sat down with up and coming star Changkuoth Jiath on his path that led him to the brown and gold!

Published on

In recent seasons, Hawthorn has had alternating Round 4 results with victories in 2014, 2016, 2018 and 2020, but defeats in 2015, 2017 and 2019. All Hawthorn supporters will be hoping the pattern ends on Sunday.

Overall, Hawthorn’s Round 4 record is 42 wins, 51 defeats, two draws (1939 and 1996) and one bye (1991). Hawthorn took longer to win in Round 4 than in any other round. It was not until 1941 that the club tasted success after 15 losses and one draw.

The Hawks’ best Round 4 sequence was eight consecutive wins from 1974 to 1981. The last of those eight successive wins was perhaps the most memorable of the sequence, as it featured the first clash between great rival coaches, Allan Jeans at Hawthorn and Kevin Sheedy at Essendon.

Both clubs headed into Round 4 with 1-2 records under their new coaches but, with the game at Windy Hill, and the Hawks missing skipper Leigh Matthews, the Bombers were firm favourites.

However, the bumper Easter Monday crowd of 29,597 saw Hawthorn take control from the start, leading by nine points at quarter time and 31 at half-time, before winning 13.16.94 to 11.13.79. Michael Moncrieff kicked five goals and Rick Davies booted three, while Terry Wallace was outstanding with 27 disposals.

60 years ago, in Round 4 1961, Hawthorn beat North Melbourne by 30 points – 12.13.85 to 8.7.55 – set up by a dominant third quarter which saw the Hawks add 5.7 to 1.1. Ian Law was a clear best on ground.

50 years ago, in Round 4 1971, Hawthorn thrashed its eventual Grand Final opponent, St Kilda, by 58 points at Moorabbin. The Hawks stormed home with a 7.3 to 1.4 final term to win by 58 points, Peter Hudson kicking seven goals and Leigh Matthews three, but it was young centre half-forward, Alan Martello, who was again best-on-ground.

20 years ago, in Round 4 2001, the Hawks comfortably accounted for 2000 Grand Finalist Melbourne by 39 points – 11.17.83 to 5.14.44. Aaron Lord got the three Brownlow votes for his five-goal game, while Lance Picioane got two votes.

10 years ago, in Round 4 2011, Hawthorn won a tight encounter with West Coast in Launceston by seven points – 10.12.72 to 9.11.65. Lance Franklin kicked six goals and Sam Mitchell had 37 disposals.

Mark Williams holds the record for most goals by a Hawthorn player against the Dockers, kicking eight against them in Round 1 2006 in Launceston.

Michael Moncrieff has the best tally in Round 4, kicking nine goals at Waverley against South Melbourne in 1979.