Powerhouse midfield duo Jaeger O’Meara and James Worpel will make a return to the field for the final game of the season as the Hawks take on Richmond at the MCG on Saturday.

Forward Luke Breust has also been included in the side as the Hawks match committee look to give the club's leading goal kicker every chance of proving his fitness following a knee injury. 

O’Meara has been named in the starting 22 after not partaking in last round's win against the Western Bulldogs due to knee soreness.

Worpel has also been recalled to the senior side after sustaining a toe injury that also kept him out of the Round 22 clash.

Hawks the fifth best in the last five

Head of Football Rob McCartney said the group is determined to put together a complete finish to 2021, coming off the back of three strong wins in a row.

"We've had to make some tough selection decisions, but it's obviously very exciting to welcome such quality back into the side," McCartney said.

"Luke Breust has made some really strong progress with his knee injury over the course of this week to put himself in the selection discussion and we're willing to give him until the 11th hour to get himself right. 

"Our side has performed well in the last few weeks and we're looking to build on this against the Tigers.

"We've been really impressed by the performances of the boys in the back-end of the season, and it's really important that we keep this momentum heading into season 2022.”

Connor Downie, Tyler Brockman and Jai Newcombe are the three players that will make way for the incoming trio.

The Round 23 game will be the last led by Alastair Clarkson, while also marking Hawks champion Shaun Burgoyne's final outing and Tom Mitchell's 150th game in the brown and gold.

Burgoyne officially confirmed on Thursday that he would retire at season’s end following an incredibly decorated career that has spanned over 21 seasons.

Earlier this month it was announced that Clarkson would be departing the Hawks at the season's end after 17 impressive years at the helm.

Brownlow Medallist Mitchell is amidst his fifth campaign at Hawthorn, having joined the club at the end of 2016 season after four years and 65 games with Sydney.

Hawthorn v Richmond
Saturday 21st August, 1.35pm AEST

B: Tim O'Brien, Kyle Hartigan, Sam Frost
Shaun Burgoyne, Jack Scrimshaw, Blake Hardwick
Daniel Howe, Jaeger O'Meara, Tom Phillips
Luke Breust, Mitch Lewis, Conor Nash 
Chad Wingard, Ben McEvoy, Jacob Koschitzke
Jonathon Ceglar, Tom Mitchell, James Worpel

INT: Oliver Hanrahan, Harry Morrison, Lachlan Bramble, Liam Shiels

Emer: Josh Morris, Tyler Brockman, Connor Downie, Jai Newcombe

IN: James Worpel, Jaeger O'Meara, Luke Breust

OUT: Connor Downie, Tyler Brockman, Jai Newcombe